All That Is Not Music Is Silence

Well, this is it.

I realized today that “Catskinner’s Book” is as good as my current level of skill as a writer can make it.  I’ve been messing around with it for a while, moving things around, changing a few scenes, minor tweaks here and there, but I’m just procrastinating.

It’s not going to get any better.  I can make it different, but I can’t make it any better.

Okay, still some mechanical things to do, formatting, checking one last time from grammar mistakes, redoing a couple of chapter breaks, but all that is grunt work.  The novel, as a novel, is done.

Wow.  I really thought I’d feel more excited about that.  Mostly, though, I just feel disappointed.  Because I know it’s not as good as it could have been if someone else wrote it.  I want it to the most fantastically wonderful novel that has ever been written, but I can’t do that.

I wrote it as good as I could.  I have to let that be enough.

About MishaBurnett

I am the author of "Catskinner's Book", a science fiction novel available on Amazon Kindle. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008MPNBNS
This entry was posted in On Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

