When do you give up?

In July, when I launched my book, I had 15 sales.  In August, 7.  So far in September, none.

I’ve got a number of positive reviews, on Amazon and GoodReads, but basically it seems that the only people who are going to read my book are my friends and family, and they’ve already bought it.

So I’m thinking it’s time to say, well, I tried.  I thought I’d be able to write something that people would like, but I was wrong.  Folks who know me said my work was good because they didn’t want to hurt my feelings.

I wouldn’t call the experience entirely negative.  I had a dream, I followed it, but not all dreams come true.

About MishaBurnett

I am the author of "Catskinner's Book", a science fiction novel available on Amazon Kindle. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008MPNBNS
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to When do you give up?

  1. Betty Burnett says:

    Six weeks, say? Huh??? C’mon, You haven’t even begun to promote it. This isn’t give up time. Screw your courage to the sticking point. Gird your loins. Catskinner wants to be heard! You needs must obey.

  2. Judy Goodwin says:

    A writer’s career is not one book, but a lifetime of writing many, many books. So if you love to write, don’t worry about the first one. Keep writing.

  3. MishaBurnett says:

    Writing isn’t the issue, I intend to keep writing. It’s the being a salesman working on commission trying to move a product that no one wants that I’m considering dropping.

    • Stabbity says:

      Fair enough, but put that writing out somewhere I can buy it even if you’re not going to bust your ass promoting it, okay? I really want to know what happens next in the Catskinner series.

  4. MishaBurnett says:

    Okay. Enough self-pity. Open grindstone, insert nose. Back to work.

Leave a Reply

