7 Sonnets In 7 Days Challenge

Okay, here’s the deal:

I am going to make a commitment to write and post a sonnet every day this week, starting this evening, and I’d like to encourage other poets to do the same.

For the basics of the form, here is the Wikipedia article. 

Now, this is not a competition–no one is going to be judging the resulting poems on quality or adherence to the form. It is just an exercise, something to get me playing with the language.

What am I going to write about?  I have no idea.  Whatever comes into my head that day.

I believe that choosing to work in a closed form helps me to gather my thoughts and clarify them.  Often when I’m not sure what I want to say, thinking about how to say it makes it easier.

If you feel like playing, feel free!  If you’d like to link back to this post or snag the graphic in the corner to repost, feel free to do that as well.  Knowing that other people are expecting me to keep my commitment is a big motivator for me.

Remember, three times four plus two, by fives!

About MishaBurnett

I am the author of "Catskinner's Book", a science fiction novel available on Amazon Kindle. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008MPNBNS
This entry was posted in On Writing, Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 7 Sonnets In 7 Days Challenge

  1. MishaBurnett says:

    Okay, guys–your turn!

Leave a Reply

