Monday’s Sonnet: Photographer

Photographer (for MzSusanB)

I see the world through abbreviated eyes
Mud-simple, ice cream-colored, overwrought
Flat plastic landscape under vinyl tent skies
An empty snow globe with fireflies uncaught

Until she pops her own from out her head
And presses them moist into my hand
And I can walk the steps I’ve always tread
But walk them in a nigh-untravelled land

“That wasn’t there!” I cry to earn her laugh
We walked through different worlds though side by side
Me on streets of stone past fields of chaff
Her where elves catch dragons for a ride

I return her eyes still full of the unseen
And catch my breath at fear of where she’s been

About MishaBurnett

I am the author of "Catskinner's Book", a science fiction novel available on Amazon Kindle. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008MPNBNS
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Monday’s Sonnet: Photographer

  1. Pingback: “Too Sappy” | mishaburnett

Leave a Reply

