Friday’s Sonnet: Mammal Seeks Same

Mammal Seeks Same

There’s a sudden and stiff-legged pounce
Head down, back arched, a fearsome surprise
Less of an attack, though, more of a bounce
Spoiled by a confused look in wide eyes

There’s prodding with paws, poke, pause, and poke
As if to say, “pay attention to me”
Then suddenly fading away like smoke
To a distance of maybe a foot or three

A coy curl and a counterfeit nap
Cool and disinterested, seemingly shy
That’s broken at once by a quick finger snap
Back to playful in the blink of an eye

So many ways my heart you will get
And I haven’t even seen you yet

About MishaBurnett

I am the author of "Catskinner's Book", a science fiction novel available on Amazon Kindle. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008MPNBNS
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Friday’s Sonnet: Mammal Seeks Same

  1. David Emeron says:

    My good man! Jolly good show on your sonnet challenge!
    By the way, I purchased your book a few moments ago. I wanted to mention it particularly because my initial reaction was fraught with humour. It went like this:

    What wonderful, perfectly terse writing!
    What marvelously perfect pacing!!
    What an intriguing first chapter!!!

    Too bad, It’s a little to dark for my mood at present.
    Too bad I wouldn’t want to meet any of the characters.
    But certainly I’ll buy it at some point, and read it.
    But boy, how it sucked me in….
    Perhaps when my mood changes……
    Click here to purchase………
    Click, click, click. Downloading now.

    You’re evil sir!

    Seriously though your writing is quite seductive.
    Your teaser chapter is perfect, I think.

    One question, if I may:
    This book seems too tight to have been self edited. I’ve always heard that one shouldn’t edit ones own work. Did you use an editor? At createspace perhaps? I had a look there. Sounds like a bargain, editing wise at .022 cents per word.

    • MishaBurnett says:

      I cheated–my mother is a freelance editor and she did it for free.

    • MishaBurnett says:

      Thank you so much for your kind comments. Sales have been quite disappointing, and it really helps to hear that somebody out there liked it.

      • David Emeron says:

        True, this is not a commercial venture I’m about to mention, but still, it applies:

        When autodidactic scientist, Eliezer Yudkowsky, (Google this with Bing if you haven’t heard of him) had written the 3rd chapter of his fan-fiction “Harry Potter and the Methods of Rationality,” no one had ever heard of it. Or him. Now, verging close to 100 chapters, writing them and posting them as he does, one at a time, with very little deliberate promotion, I find myself running into more and more people who have read it, plan to read it, or have heard of it. All he did to achieve this was to just keep writing.

        If you do something consistently for long enough, eventually that something, whatever it is, will be noticed. So take down that downer post up there!!! Or amend it at least!!

        Catskinner’s book (the first) is an excellent book. It just needs to be noticed. Imagine how that will happen, once you have written another, and another, and another.

  2. MishaBurnett says:

    Thank you again, but I don’t see my comments as negative so much as truthful. Sales have disappointed me, and I realize that I don’t know much about how to promote a book–I didn’t really think that far ahead. I am considering investing in a professional promotion service.

    • David Emeron says:

      Well… that’s how the pro book companies do it! They have a whole promotion engine in house. When you self publish, that’s what you have to do. That, or else just depend on word of mouth. Takes longer that way, I’d imagine.

      Surely a publicist and/or and ad agency would be the thing to do. It’s that catch 22 of self publishing, I expect: Can’t afford to do it/Can’t afford not to do it. It makes one understand why it’s so hard to get a book published by a major pub house though. They have to think that for sure they publicity engine can make it turn a profit. I understand that it’s not a forgone conclusion even there, though. That’s what the book signing tours are all about. You have to be prepared to go on the road like a metal band, or some other kind of musician type.

      I’m enjoying Catskinner I quite a lot. I will write a review when I am finished. That will take me a while though. I am quite auditory in my reading habits, and therefore read at spoken speed. It can be a damnable nuisance(in school, for example.)

      I have even timed myself reading. I read perhaps even slower than a proper oration of whatever I’m reading. I have to hear the sound, but also, when I’m reading silently, I can also pause to reflect on the sound and character of what I have read. It makes reading for entertainment very enjoyable for me, but, as I mentioned, it makes studying kind of a pain.

  3. Pingback: “Too Sappy” | mishaburnett

Leave a Reply

