Notes From Halfway Up The North Face

A while back I came up with a promotional plan for Catskinner’s Book, a kind of a blue sky project that I didn’t really expect to work.

There’s a recording artist that I like, and I found that he had done some audiobook work, and so I contacted him via his Facebook page and asked him if he would be interested in doing another.

I didn’t really expect an answer, but he did answer, and I sent him the book.  He was interested in the project and we talked about studio and production costs.  I looked into making a Kickstarter project, looked into the costs of making the rewards, and I think it’s feasible.

The next part was to make a video.  As it happens I know someone who produces video professionally, and I went to his place, set up the camera, and shot me talking about my book and the project and why people should invest.

Here’s the problem.  I look terrible on video, and I talk like an autistic orc who is trying to do a Kasey Kasem impression while on quaaludes.  In all my years of linguistic studies I have never encountered a word for how bad I look.  Seriously.  And then some.

So my friend did some heroic editing and got the video to just really really bad.  Then we decided to sit on it for a while and pray for divine inspiration.

That was this past week, and I drowned my sorrows in sonnets to avoid thinking about the problem.

Today I decided that I’m going to do the launch anyway.  I mean, we could work on this video for another month and maybe get it to really bad.  Or, if fate smiles, maybe all the way to just bad.  Maybe.

I haven’t got a month.  I haven’t got another week.  I have been fighting the screaming panic for a while now, and if I don’t move forward on something, it’s going to win.  I have decided to do some paid promotion, and if I am going to do the Kickstarter project then it would make sense to get it launched before I do the promotion, so I can direct people to that site as well.

So, if I’m going to go ahead with the audiobook project, I have to do it before the paid blog tour.  And I have to do the paid blog tour soon, or I’m just going to give up and dig a deep hole, crawl inside, and pull it in after me.

I feel like I’m climbing a rock face, and hanging on by my fingertips.  I have to either go forward or drop off.

It was touch and go for a while, but I’ve decided on forward.

About MishaBurnett

I am the author of "Catskinner's Book", a science fiction novel available on Amazon Kindle. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008MPNBNS
This entry was posted in On Writing, Who I am and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

