Postcards From A Damnable Land

I haven’t done a lot of promotion on this blog, and maybe I should.  This is actually the cover for my next book, the one I am writing now.  Sequels are tough. 

My first novel, Catskinner’s Book just got a new review, and the reviewer complained that I left questions unanswered and ended it rather abruptly. Guilty as charged.

The problem is that I started Catskinner with a desire to break the rules of conventional urban fantasy/science fiction.  I did that, and I think I did that well, but I can’t do it again if my next book is set in the same world as the first one.  In setting down James and Catskinner’s story, I made new rules, and to be fair to my readers, I have to follow them.

So I find myself having to keep digging through my last book to keep this one consistent.  What did I say about Godiva and what she’s capable of?  How much of Russwin’s background did I share, and can I maybe change things–say he lied when he talked about himself?  What was I thinking when I called those things that?  

But, anyway, I’m supposed to be promoting my book–the first one, the one I actually written.  So, go buy it.  Tell all your friends to buy it.  Post glowing reviews of it everywhere you can think of.  Help me sell enough copies so I can quit my day job and write full time.

There, done.  I suck at promotion.  Honestly, guys, I’m better at writing than I am at writing about writing.

 

About MishaBurnett

I am the author of "Catskinner's Book", a science fiction novel available on Amazon Kindle. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008MPNBNS
This entry was posted in On Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Postcards From A Damnable Land

  1. Rowan says:

    Very convincing. XD Cheer up! You’re published! Look at it from the POV from BEFORE you were published. Kudos~

Leave a Reply

