11,860

Okay, so I just wrapped up chapter four of Cannibal Hearts bringing my word count to 11,860.  This one is going faster than the last one, mostly, I think, because I’ve already done it once.

When I wrote Catskinner’s Book I was fighting the whole idea of actually doing it–finishing a novel.  That’s one of the reasons that the ending was as abrupt as it was.  I was scared that if I didn’t draw a line in the sand and say, “This is it–we’re done!” I would just keep messing around with it forever.

I want to make this one better, and I think I am.  Already I can see how much writing my first book has taught me.  I’ve got a better feel for pacing and flow of the narrative, I think, and a better grasp of the overall structure.

I know now that Catskinner’s Book wasn’t really ready when I went live on Amazon with it, but I don’t think it ever would have been.  I have to learn by doing–that’s just the way I’m wired.  I have to make my own mistakes or I never learn.

On the plus side, though, I do tend to learn fast.

About MishaBurnett

I am the author of "Catskinner's Book", a science fiction novel available on Amazon Kindle. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008MPNBNS
This entry was posted in On Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 11,860

  1. It’s great to know it gets easier after writing your first one. I would love to write a book one day, but am taking baby steps. Just started my first blog and I am seeing the more I write, the more I write, and the more I want to write… 🙂 Congratulations to you!

Leave a Reply

