I suppose I should reply…

Okay, so I was nominated for the Very Inspiring Blog Award by The Jenny Mac Book Blog.

And I’m touched, really I am. I don’t consider myself to be particularly “inspiring”, I consider myself to be a bitter old curmudgeon with a cynical attitude and more tattoos than teeth. (Okay, so you have to count each letter as an individual tattoo to make that one work out, but you get the picture.)

I’m mean and I’m ugly and I have a lot of unfashionable ideas about God and sex and work and epistemology.  I wear white socks with everything and own a collection of Hawaiian shirts so unspeakably hideous as to drive mortals to madness with a single glance.

My inspiration, as such, is purely negative.  I’m the guy that you show your kids with the warning, “If you don’t eat your vegetables, you’ll grow up to be like him!” 

But, okay, I’ll play along–to a point.  I’ve displayed the logo on my blog, I’ve linked back to the person who nominated me.  In a little bit I’m going to list seven things about me.

I’m not going to nominate anyone else, however.  Why not, you ask? Because I don’t like being told what to do, and because it wouldn’t be honest.  There are a number of blogs that I read, and I am sometimes amused, sometimes angered, sometimes bored, and, yes, sometimes inspired, but that has a whole lot more to do with what’s going on in my mind than the content of the blogs I read.

I don’t like the idea of passing judgement on other people’s body of work.  I’m not going to say, “These people are inspiring (and by implication the others aren’t).”  If I didn’t get something out of reading your work, I wouldn’t read it.

The bottom line is that I hate popularity contests, and I won’t play.  (cf “bitter old curmudgeon”.)

Okay, that having been said, here are seven things about me, in no particular order.

1)  I have two young cats named Butch and Flynt. They are brothers and were adopted at a cat rescue event at PetSmart.  They are neutered, but not declawed, because I think declawing cats is a cruel and ugly procedure.

2) I think that “Imagine” by John Lennon is the most horrible song ever written.  Seriously, I hate that song.  I will leave the room when it comes on.  It is followed closely by “Signs” by The Five Man Electrical Band.

3) I have ongoing short term memory problems.  I frequently “wake up” in the middle of doing something and have no idea what I was doing, particularly if I am under stress.  To compensate I have developed the habit of visual cuing, I do tasks in a particular order and keep my materials in a particular order, so that I can tell by looking at what’s in front of me what I was doing and where in the process I am.

4) I have three children, and my eldest daughter is to be married in December of this year.

5) I attended two high schools.  The first one was Kickapoo High in Springfield, Missouri, where I went to school with Brad Pitt. (We weren’t close.) The second, from which I would have graduated if I had graduated from high school, was The Academy Of Math and Science in Saint Louis, Missouri, and no longer exists.

6) I have abnormally large hands for my size.  I can span an octave and four notes on a piano keyboard.  I do not, however, play the piano, although I have moved a few.

7) I believe that John Carpenter is the most influential filmmaker of the 20th Century, and one day his contribution to the art of cinema will be recognized worldwide.  Probably not any time soon, though.

Okay, there you have it.

About MishaBurnett

I am the author of "Catskinner's Book", a science fiction novel available on Amazon Kindle. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008MPNBNS
This entry was posted in Who I am and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I suppose I should reply…

  1. lala1966 says:

    thank you for doing this. I think that you are very inspiring!

  2. Carol Ross says:

    Great post. Almost a lol. Is there an acronym for entertained and amused?? EAA doesn’t have much of a ring does it? Cheers, Carol.

  3. Carol Ross says:

    Great post Misha. Almost a “lol”. Is there an acronym for amused and entertained? aee doesn’t have much of a ring does it?

  4. diannegray says:

    Very funny post, Misha! Congratulations for being ‘inspiring’ (I don’t like Imagine either)…

  5. Abraham says:

    The visual cuing idea is interesting.

Leave a Reply

