Bring On The Dancing Horses

My eldest and her betrothed.

My eldest and her betrothed.

This Saturday my oldest daughter is getting married. I don’t really know the young man very well, but he seems a decent enough sort, and my daughter is a savvy young woman, I trust her judgement.

I’m excited for them, really.  I think they will have a good life together–not an easy life, mind you, no one really gets that–they have plans that seem reasonable and achievable to me.  Life is going to kick them in the teeth from time to time, of course, but I think they are committed to working through things together.

They’re good kids.  Smart kids, who are getting into this thing with eyes wide open.  Plus, they’re really in love, and that always helps.

It makes me feel old, though.  It makes me feel like I am entering the last phase of my life. Child, youth, father, graybeard.

I’m okay with that.  I can’t really lay claim to any wisdom in my old age, but there is a certain degree of comfort to be found in experience.  Been there, done that, don’t have to do it again.  When you’re young you feel they eyes of the world on you, judging you, insisting that you be something extraordinary.  Conforming to the world’s expectations or rebelling against them, either way you’re following the world’s lead.

A few years back I got a tattoo on my left wrist that reads, “Contra Mundis“.  It means “Against The World”, and it grows more significant to me every year.

I am not in opposition to the world, to walk away from Rome is still to travel on the Roman road.  Instead I find myself at right angles to the world, or at some oblique to it.  I live my life as I choose and I let the world live as it chooses.

Which brings me back to eldest and her betrothed.  If I had one piece of advise to give a young couple starting out life together, it would be this:

Don’t live for the world, make your own.  The family is the basic unit of humanity, the way that packs are the basic unit of wolves and pods are the basic unit of whales.  Nations and empires come and go, but families survive.

You two are the world.  Everything else is details.

About MishaBurnett

I am the author of "Catskinner's Book", a science fiction novel available on Amazon Kindle. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008MPNBNS
This entry was posted in Who I am and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Bring On The Dancing Horses

  1. lala1966 says:

    congrats to your daughter and her man! Love this post! Love your tattoo!

  2. Love that they are in a comic book shop!!!

  3. David Emeron says:

    Reblogged this on David Emeron: Reflections upon Reflections and commented:
    My heartfelt congratulations to the author on the event of his son’s wedding.

    Most sincerely yours,

    David Emeron

  4. I like your advice about families enduring, and I also agree with your point about not being in opposition to the world so much as being oblique to it. That’s often how I picture the writing I like to read as well as that I like to write: writing that takes off in a new, oblique direction.

  5. Abraham says:

    Congratulations!
    I hope everything went well.

Leave a Reply

