Over The Top Or Not?

Okay, I’ve got a snippet from “Cannibal Hearts” to share, it’s a character description of Agony Delapour, who showed up at the end of “Catskinner’s Book”.

 

“Agony Delapour was the question mark at the end of a question that nobody wanted to know the answer to. People were scared of me because they knew what Catskinner could do. People were even more scared of Agony because they have no idea what she can do. People who were inconvenient to her died in messy and inexplicable ways that had no direct connection to her. She seemed to know everything about everybody without having any traceable sources of information. Nobody knew where she lived, or where she was from, nobody ever claimed to have any solid information on her at all. She communicated by e-mail and a series of cheap disposable phones that changed weekly.

She just showed up, like some obscure goddess of misfortune, descending from the skies to land in a big suite in an airport hotel, and Hell followed after.

And now she was coming here, for some project that required a meeting with all the top staff of Nova Properties.  As something to worry about, it was aces.”

So, too purple?  I have a tendency to go over the top.  I really like this bit, but I don’t know if it works.

About MishaBurnett

I am the author of "Catskinner's Book", a science fiction novel available on Amazon Kindle. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008MPNBNS
This entry was posted in Cannibal Hearts, On Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Over The Top Or Not?

  1. Melody Luttrell says:

    I like it! But then, I g get too purple because of you.

  2. reikiheidi says:

    Intriguing! I’d want to know about more about her: she sounds like my kind of girl.
    I think… it would only be over the top if the story following this didn’t deliver on the ‘Hell followed after’ – if it does, well then. The literary world needs more butt-kicking females!

  3. I worry about getting over the top as well.
    To me, this is not over the top.

  4. The Hook says:

    These days, you really can’t go over the top, my friend.
    Good job!

Leave a Reply

