Fictionary

fictionary

This post here made a call for neologisms, and I  thought I bring up one that I coined some years ago, but I still believe is an important word.

Thrickle (noun) A specialized tool provided by the manufacturer of a product intended to be assembled by the end user.

The word comes from a discussion I had with my ex-wife about the local giveaway ad sheet, The Thrifty Nickle, which I liked to call The Nifty Thrickle, because I’m weird that way.  We decided that “thrickle” was a really great word, and there should be some object to go with it.

Shortly thereafter we were putting together a cheap bookcase, and the manufacturer had helpfully included an Allen wrench in the screw pack, and we realized that we had an object that needed a word and a word that needed an object.

So I have been using thrickle to describe all manner of helpful little gizmos and gee-gaws that you find packaged with assemble-it-yourself furniture and home appliances.  It’s been years now, and so far no one else has adopted that word, but I still have hopes that one day it will be considered the definitive term.

About MishaBurnett

I am the author of "Catskinner's Book", a science fiction novel available on Amazon Kindle. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008MPNBNS
This entry was posted in On Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Fictionary

  1. tracycembor says:

    I want to see if I can work that into my book. The thought of a steampunk thrickle makes me giggle.

  2. reikiheidi says:

    I’ll start spreading that word around… 🙂

  3. MissFourEyes says:

    I like it! I’m going to start using it too, let’s see if it catches on

  4. Kylie says:

    I love it! Thanks for your entry. I’m thrickled pink.

    Also–dear readers of Misha Burnett–please submit your entry to the Fictionary contest! http://thelifeofkylie.com/2013/01/01/lets-play-fictionary/

    You might win muffins.

  5. rarasaur says:

    Perfect!! Thrickle is a blast to say, and really does have a lot of uses– anyone who’s ever shopped at IKEA knows all about thrickles. 😀

  6. Pingback: Drumroll Please | The Life of Kylie

  7. Kylie says:

    Reblogged this on The Life of Kylie and commented:
    Fictionary entry from Misha Burnett

  8. Seb says:

    I once won a bet with a co-worker that I could use a totally made up word 5 times in a day at work and not be called out on it. The word was “innibulate”

  9. Not sure why but this post reminded me of an episode of King of Queens where Arthur tried to get rich by selling his idea for an A (for Arthur head) shaped screw driver. When he was trying to explain it to a stoned hardware store clerk, he was talking about putting the Arthur head screw into the A hole….and on and on…funny stuff.

Leave a Reply

