A Clockwork Goblin Looks Back In Sorrow

When it was just us
And the world was no more than those things that we had tasted with our own lips
Did you
Could you
Tell the truth?

I shouldn’t ask
I know
Our shoulders weren’t broad enough for heavy words like truth
Back then
Are they now?

I don’t know what you look like now
I don’t know if would recognize you
If you plummeted from a burning aircraft and came to rest
Through the windshield of my car
A bloody angel with a halo of shattered glass

It takes me time to remember your name
I can’t always put all the pieces of your face in the right order
I do remember the curve of your chest pale and warm beneath my hand
I do remember your breath

Do you remember?
In moments before you sleep
Do you ever hear your own sweat-choked voice
And what you said
And what I said
And what you said again?

When it was just us
And the world was no more than we could wrap our arms and legs around
Did you believe me?

Do you ever think of finding me
Travelling cross country in a used car
Guided by memories and old maps written on sheets of dime store graph paper
To knock on my door and to insist
That I honor the promise I made to you
When the whole of the world was no more than just us?

About MishaBurnett

I am the author of "Catskinner's Book", a science fiction novel available on Amazon Kindle. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008MPNBNS
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Clockwork Goblin Looks Back In Sorrow

  1. fortyoneteen says:

    Beautiful… and now of course, I am remembering. Funny the grabs we hold onto and the things that disappear.

    • MishaBurnett says:

      Thank you. I just suddenly remembered someone I haven’t seen in thirty-something years, and the poem kind of wrote itself.

      • fortyoneteen says:

        It’s amazing to get that “wrote itself” flow, and you can tell when you read it. Memory is a funny old web isn’t it, little threads snapping free every now and then. Wouldn’t it be nice to think that maybe you pop into someones thoughts, even after all that time?

  2. Pingback: Notes From All Over | mishaburnett

  3. Pingback: Throwing Verbs | fortyoneteen

Leave a Reply

