Hurmmm…

I just had an interesting idea–we are planning this road trip at the end of the month, and we tend to stop at rest areas a lot–we travel to travel, not just to get someplace.  MzSusanB has this bear, Hank, and she likes to take pictures of him in front of “Welcome To…” signs.  Plus, I smoke, and I don’t don’t smoke in her car.  And then there’s the whole bathroom thing…

Anyway–

I have about fifteen copies of Catskinner’s Book in the trade paperback, and I was thinking about trying to get them into locally owned bookstores along the route, but that seems like a lot of work for very little return and do I try to work a consignment deal with someone I don’t know and yadda yadda yadda, and then I thought about hitting up local libraries along the route, and that meant doing research and getting off the highway in strange places…

And then I though, heck, if I’m giving the books away, then why not give them away at the rest stops.  People on road trips want something to read, right?  (Not, it is to be hoped, while driving.) So I figure, I’ll take some books, print out some letters to stick in them, and leave one when we stop.

Something like:

FREE BOOK

Hello, my name is Misha Burnett, and I am the author of this novel.  I am a self-published author, and I want to get as many people as possible to have a chance to read my work.  So I am giving away copies of my book.  If you’ve found this, please take it.  Read it, and I hope you enjoy it.  All I ask is if you don’t like it, please leave it where someone else can pick it up.  

And then I’ll probably include my e-mail address if they want to get in contact with me.   On the “about the author” page at the end of the paperback I already have my WordPress address.

So what do you think?  Crazy idea?  Just crazy enough that it might work?

About MishaBurnett

I am the author of "Catskinner's Book", a science fiction novel available on Amazon Kindle. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008MPNBNS
This entry was posted in On Promotion and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Hurmmm…

  1. Don’t forget to take pics at your stops for the Roaming Indie!

  2. lala1966 says:

    I think it’s a great idea!

  3. reikiheidi says:

    Brilliant idea… almost like the ‘Random Acts of Kindness’ that has been happening this week – except you get a positive return on this 🙂

  4. fortyoneteen says:

    I love it! Crazy, but crazy good. I know I would think that would be the most amazing thing to find at a rest stop. I think you only find what you are looking for so I’m sure they will make there way into the right hands.

Leave a Reply

