For my next trick I’ll need a volunteer

Okay, so I just wrapped up Chapter 13 of Cannibal Hearts, which brings my word count to just over 38,000.  I figure that’s close enough to the halfway point that I can send out what I have to Beta Readers for some feedback.

Who qualifies?  Anyone who fills out this form!  I’ll need an e-mail address and a preferred format, and I’ll send out files next week.

Now, I am going to be doing quick and dirty conversions with Calibre and not taking the time to tweak them, so don’t bother telling me about formatting errors–I’m sure there will be some.

What I am looking for is feedback on the story.  Specifically, does the story flow well, does the pacing seem too fast or too slow?

Also, I’d like any feedback on the characters–do the old ones match up with the way they were written in Catskinner’s Book?  Do the new ones fit into the world?  Are there any you particularly like, or particularly dislike?

And is the world consistent?  Internally consistent?  Consistent with Catskinner’s Book?  Do any glaring errors pop out at you?  Do I say things are one way in one place, and a different way someplace else?

Keep in mind, that this is about half a book.  What I want to know is does what I have written so far make you want to read the rest of the story?

Oh, and you don’t actually have to have read Catskinner’s Book in order to get a beta copy. Just let me know when you send me your remarks that you haven’t read the first one.  Ideally this novel will be accessible to people who are visiting the World Of Lost Doors for the first time.

UPDATE: 18Feb13–so far I’ve got three test subjects, I could use more.  So please, feel free to sign up–the more opinions I get, the better.

About MishaBurnett

I am the author of "Catskinner's Book", a science fiction novel available on Amazon Kindle. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008MPNBNS
This entry was posted in Cannibal Hearts, On Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to For my next trick I’ll need a volunteer

  1. reikiheidi says:

    🙂 I haven’t read the first one yet, but I would love to read this!

  2. lala1966 says:

    I don’t own a kindle or a notebook of any kind or I would volunteer. This is a great idea though xx

  3. MishaBurnett says:

    @lala, it’s on its way!

  4. fortyoneteen says:

    I haven’t read the first one, but I am in!

  5. marian says:

    I must have more words.

    The only thing that gave me pause was a sentence in passing about having to remove teeth to eat. Then I remembered the being but it might want a bit more detail for someone who had not read the first one. Otherwise the flow and characters were great until I came to a screeching halt. I had stopped reading for a day because I didn’t want it to end.

Leave a Reply

