Character Interview: Cobb Russwin

Today we’re talking with Cobb Russwin, from Catskinner’s Book and Cannibal Hearts.  I’ve never tried interviewing one of my characters before, let’s see how this goes. 

Interview: Corbett Henry Russwin is a former Marine and former federal agent, currently in the employ of Nova Properties as a code compliance consultant–

Russwin: (laughs) No such thing as “former” Marine, son.  And my status with the State Department is complicated.  I’m on detached duty with an inter-agency special investigation, presently inactive.

I: I stand corrected.  So you are currently a federal employee?

R: A federal employee?  Currently?  No… no, I wouldn’t say that exactly.

I: What would you say?  Exactly?

R: The specifics of my agency affiliation are not something that I am in a position to discuss at this time.

I: And why is that?

R: We’re changing the subject now.  Ask me something else.

I: Uh.  Okay.  Well, can you discuss your work with Nova Properties?

R: Certain aspects of it, yes.  Other aspects are protected by a non-disclosure agreement.

I: I have a feeling this is going to be a very short interview.

R: Look, you asked me to come here today.  I didn’t volunteer.

I: Fair enough.  Now, you are listed as a “Code Compliance Consultant”. What does that mean?

R: I assist Nova Properties in maintaining a positive relationship with various State and Federal regulatory bodies.

I: Can you give me an example?

R: No, I don’t believe I can.

I: Why am I not surprised?  Look, what can you talk about?

R: How about those Blues, huh?  Hitchcock has really turned the team around.  Pity about Tarasenko, though.

I: What can you tell me about a woman called Agony Delapour?

R: Nothing.

I: Is it true that she is, in fact, a silent partner in Nova Properties?

R: I can’t comment on that.

I: It is known that she has purchased a property in St. Louis, and that Nova Properties is engaged to manage it.  It is also known that the renovations will be made by a company that employs former Nova Properties personnel.  Comment?

R: I might have heard something about that.

I: There are rumors connecting Agony Delapour with an arms dealer know as “the Voroshaju”.  Care to comment on that?

R: I have nothing to say on that subject.

I: There are also rumors that your associate James Ozryck may also be involved in the arms trade, and may, in fact, have been responsible for–

R: (stands) This conversation is over.

I: Seven Ukrainian nationals, including suspected arms dealer Dmitri Nerekov were found murdered in a Nova owned property.  And you still maintain that there is no connection?

R: I advise that you direct any further communication to Nova Properties general counsel, Stuart Dogs.

I: We will find out the truth!

R: (sighs)  You might at that.  But I’m telling you, I can almost guarantee that you’re not going to like it when you find it.  Look, you seem like a nice enough kid.  My advice is to go home and forget about all this stuff. Just keep believing that the world makes sense and everything is going to be mostly okay in the end.  You’re happier not knowing the truth.  Trust me on this.

About MishaBurnett

I am the author of "Catskinner's Book", a science fiction novel available on Amazon Kindle. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008MPNBNS
This entry was posted in On Promotion, On Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Character Interview: Cobb Russwin

  1. paws4puzzles says:

    What got me about Russwin in the first book is that he never seemed to eat anything – just drank soda – I started thinking about him like some kind of soda vampire!

    • MishaBurnett says:

      Heh. Cobb is based on a combination of different people I have known, and one of them is a retired US Marshall that I used to work with. Every night he would show up with a fresh 12 pack of Pepsi, and would finish it during his shift. As far as we could tell, he lived on Pepsi and Kools. But Cobb does eat, in fact, he’s about to have some BBQ in the scene I’m writing now.

  2. karmicangel says:

    What a cool idea! To interview your characters.. I’m going to have to try it. Love the answers from Russwin. Having read Catskinner’s Book, I believe him, I can hear him in fact. Nicely done.

    • MishaBurnett says:

      I did not invent the idea of interviewing characters, I’ve seen other writers do it in their blogs. I’m the character feels real to you–he really is one of my favorites.

  3. Pingback: Author Interview: Misha Burnett | A.Keeney Author

Leave a Reply

