Scrivener

Okay, so I downloaded the trial version of Scrivener, and I have to agree that it is an amazingly versatile program.  It lets you work between multiple windows and display notes and rearrange  files and add tags to sections of text.

It lets you customize the colors and fonts of every single bit of information on the screen.  It will automatically compile many documents into one or subdivide one document into many. It lets you add images or media files.

However, for all its versatility,  if there is any way to apply automatic formatting to an entire document to indent the first line of every paragraph, I haven’t found it, and it won’t import or export to Open Office files, and so I can’t use it for my existing document.

It seems to be much like a fireworks display–very pretty, but essentially useless.

Pity, I had heard such good things about it.

About MishaBurnett

I am the author of "Catskinner's Book", a science fiction novel available on Amazon Kindle. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008MPNBNS
This entry was posted in On Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Scrivener

  1. That … sucks. Maybe Google the problems and see if any solutions come up? I swear I’ve heard people talk about exporting files before …

    • MishaBurnett says:

      It will import and export files, just not to Open Office, which is what I use to write. Actually, I realize that I am being unfair to the developer, it’s not intended as a word processor, so I should expect it to function as one.

Leave a Reply

