Goodbye CH015.odt!

Yeah, baby–stick a fork in Chapter Fifteen, it is done!

I write in Open Office, and I write one chapter per file.  So, with Cannibal Hearts, I have CH001.odt, CH002.odt, CH003.odt, and so on.   As I finish each chapter I also cut and paste it into my master document, CHFull.odt. 

I also tend to leave my current files open all the time, because I tend to come up with good ideas when I am doing something else, and I like to be able to just dash into my office and hammer out the next few lines without having to click to open the program and then open the file.

Which means that I have little boxes on the taskbar on my desktop, and for the past freaking month and change, one of them has read CH015.odt. Every time I sat down at my computer, I would see that little box and it would remind me that I was still stuck on Chapter Fifteen.  Just a little cybernetic slap in the face, something to keep me from forgetting that another day had passed me by and I was still on Chapter Freakin’ Fifteen!

Well, today that little box reads CH016.odt. I finally wrapped up that chapter–it actually ran a little long, 8 pages instead of my usual 7 pages per chapter.

And man, it feels good.  I’m starting to think I might just slay this leviathan after all.

44,066 words and counting.

About MishaBurnett

I am the author of "Catskinner's Book", a science fiction novel available on Amazon Kindle. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008MPNBNS
This entry was posted in Cannibal Hearts, On Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Goodbye CH015.odt!

  1. Congratulations, Misha. The BIG monster is dead. Now every other “monster” chapter should be a breeze. Thanks for sharing your work-in process steps. I never heard of Open Office until today. It seems a good tool and I am so impressed. Going to check it out.

Leave a Reply

