The Woman Who Played Scrabble With God

When my mother was a little girl
She won the war against the Nazis
By rinsing out and smashing cans
That got melted down and made into tanks

Her father was an important man
Although I never knew exactly how
I remember him primarily as the owner
Of two refridgerators
One of which held only Dr. Pepper in glass bottles

My mother’s mother was a witch
And that’s all I am going to say

My mother’s magic
Was of a differant and more perilous order than witchcraft
She could speak with the tongues of men and angels
She could read Latin
She knew everything:
The names of Russian astronauts
The sleeping habits of dinosaurs
All manner of minutia
About the lives of fascinating people
That I would never meet
Because they’re dead

My mother taught me
That fear is a gift
And that to be afraid of someone is more important than to love

I still don’t know if that is true
But she was right about everything else

About MishaBurnett

I am the author of "Catskinner's Book", a science fiction novel available on Amazon Kindle. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008MPNBNS
This entry was posted in Poetry, Who I am and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Woman Who Played Scrabble With God

  1. Dave Higgins says:

    Excellent rejection of regularity.

    • MishaBurnett says:

      Thank you. I wrote this about 7 years ago, and since then I have become much more of a formalist. But I do like this one, and I thought it was appropriate to post on Mother’s Day.

Leave a Reply

