Sixty Thousand Words

Just broke sixty thousand words.  We’re getting close to the end, which means that I probably won’t make the eighty thousand I was hoping for, but I really don’t see stretching things out for the sake of word count.  It’s just going to be as long as it has to be.

I’m getting ready to tackle the big boss battle with the main antagonist.  I’m not exactly sure how it’s going to play out–there are a few things that my bad guy is going to have to let slip during the showdown, and I’m working on ways to script it so that he doesn’t come across as a Republic Serial villain. (“I will crush you!  But first, let me explain my evil plan in detail.”)

I’m looking forward to having this done.  After the boss battle I have two more significant scenes, one of which is going to be fun and one of which is going to be hard.  After that I’m going to take a break from it for a while before I go back to edit.

I don’t think I’ve got a lot of rewriting to do.  I know I have a couple of bits of continuity to fix–details that have changed from chapter to chapter that I need to make the same.  The basic storyline, though, I think that’s solid.

It’s not really the story I set out to tell, not exactly.  It ended up meandering and in a couple of  places went somewhere I was not prepared for it to go, but it’s the best story I can tell.  I think I’ve been honest with myself and my readers, and I think I’ve treated my characters fairly.

All in all, a solid bit of work.

I’m already thinking about what I’m going to do next.  I need to work on The Fauxpocalpse Project, finish up my story, format the other stories, solicit more submissions.  I think it’s going to be a good collection.

I do have the next Book Of Lost Doors novel plotted out in my head.  I’m not sure if I want to start it right away, though.  That world is turning very grim, and I could use some happy people living in my head for a while.

I have a couple of other projects I’d like to do.  At the moment the frontrunner is Montgomery’s Island, which is a sequel to H. G. Well’s The Island Of Doctor Moreau told from the beast-men’s point of view.  (I know that doesn’t sound particularly bright and cheerful, but it is in my head.  We’ll see.)

Anyway, I’m tired, but it’s a good kind of tired.  I’ve hit another milestone, and I’m feeling very hopeful about my work.

Break out the slivovitz, boys, it’s Purim somewhere!

About MishaBurnett

I am the author of "Catskinner's Book", a science fiction novel available on Amazon Kindle. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008MPNBNS
This entry was posted in Cannibal Hearts, On Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Sixty Thousand Words

  1. I love to read about the progress other people are making in their writing, it motivates me to keep trucking along! Congrats and good luck wrapping everything up…

  2. Congrats on getting so far.

  3. Ann Marie Meek says:

    Yay! 60K! Hang in there. 🙂

  4. Yeah word count doesn’t matter. Gotta be true to the story

  5. L. Marie says:

    Wow. Such great progress! I need to make some.

  6. Hey, nothing wrong with a shorter novel! And if it’s too short, you can always flesh it out later 🙂

  7. Just wanted to let you know, I got an e-mail from Amazon promoting Catskinner’s Book. The subject line was ‘Catskinner’s Book’ and it was at the top of the book listing in the e-mail. Not sure if they sent it to you also, but wanted to let you know about it. Hopefully, it helps you sell a few more books.

    • MishaBurnett says:

      Cool! Thanks for letting me know. Actually, I have been getting those e-mails for a while, but I think that’s just because I check my own sales page so often. I was wondering if anyone else got those.

Leave a Reply

