Not Long Before The End

I am in the habit of converting my work in progress to .mobi periodically and loading it into my Kindle.  As an editing tool, I find that reading my words on my Kindle screen gives me a much different perspective than reading it over on my desktop in Open Office.

It’s funny, but I notice more.  It may be that when I see it as a document in a word processor my internal editor judges it by a different standard.  Reading my WIP on my Kindle makes it look like a real book, and that makes me view it much more critically.

Be that as it may, I read through Cannibal Hearts as far as I’ve gotten over the last couple of days, and, you know, it’s pretty darned good.  Yeah, I’ve got some issues that are going to need addressing before I publish, continuity stuff like trying to keep the days of the week straight and figuring out which car is where–my characters seem to have a lot of conversations while driving, and that means that they ride to different places together, and that means that somebody leaves a vehicle parked somewhere.

I’ve got some good stuff in this book, though.  One section in particular made me cry.  I get heavy with the emotional stuff towards the end.  Writing in the metaphor of speculative fiction allows me to go places that I wouldn’t feel comfortable going if I was trying to fit this narrative in the real world.  It’s as if I get a free pass to say what I really mean because the supernatural/paranormal elements leave me an out–I can always say, “Hey, look!  I’ve got aliens and shit in this book–it ain’t real!”

So… there’s that.  I think there are definitely different stages in writing a novel, and now I feel that I’ve already made most of the significant decisions, from here on out I just play the cards as I’ve dealt them.  It’s like chess–the endgame was always my best game.  I’m not a good chess player, because my grasp of openings is very weak and I tend to freeze up when I have too many options, but I do play a mean endgame.  I find it surprisingly comfortable to have my back against the wall.

It’s been a long strange trip, and I want to give a very sincere thank you to all of you who have been following my blog and taking it with me.  I’ll be coming up on a year on WordPress pretty soon, and I suppose that I should do something significant for that.  (I’m thinking pictures of my cats, actually.  I considered posing in my thong and leather mask, but I do try to keep this SFW.)

So, yeah, James and Catskinner are going into the lair of my primary antagonist (Catskinner just leaped through a window in an abandoned factory) and after that I’m planning a characteristically ambiguous ending where you can’t tell the good guys from the bad guys except that the good guys are still alive, and isn’t that what it’s all about?

I also realized that the novel begins on July 15th, and while in my book July 15th is a Wednesday,  but in 2013 it’s a Monday, I think I’m going to try to launch the book on the date that it begins in the novel.  So I may rewrite it to begin on the 17th (it being Wednesday is actually fairly significant) and see if I can launch it then.

See you in the funny papers, peeps.

About MishaBurnett

I am the author of "Catskinner's Book", a science fiction novel available on Amazon Kindle. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008MPNBNS
This entry was posted in Cannibal Hearts, On Promotion, On Publishing, On Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Not Long Before The End

  1. MishaBurnett says:

    Reblogged this on The Fauxpocalypse Project and commented:

    What I have been up to lately.

  2. That’s a great idea to debut the book on the day that the story starts. Good luck.

  3. Dave Higgins says:

    Fantasy is a good vessel for uncomfortable topics; the “Dracula is about syphilis” theory is the most famous potential use of it of which I am aware.

    Apart from the ritual of cursing Goodreads to the rocks of the Earth and the birds of the Sky are you planning any promotion, or is it too early to think about that yet?

  4. L. Marie says:

    Wow. That’s exciting! And how cool that you can launch the book on that date!

  5. Great idea putting your book on Kindle as part of the editing process. Good luck with the launch

Leave a Reply

