Pulling rabbits out of a hat.

Well.

The first draft of Cannibal Hearts is done.  I am playing around with an epilogue, which I may or may not include.  The ending I have is pretty brutal, emotionally, and I feel a need to soften the blow a little, add a scene that takes place a couple of months later.  I’ll see.

I’m tired.  Damn, I’m tired.  This book has been rough on me, there’s a lot of raw nerves in here.  In fact, this draft is nowhere near as edgy as it first came out–I revise as I write, and I kept going back and softening things a bit.

But I think it’s a good bit of work.  I’m going to see how the epilogue goes, and then I’m going to put it away for a while, pick it up and read it over when I have had a chance to rest and recharge a while.

Next I think I’m going to write The Happy Fluffy Bunnies To Whom Nothing Bad Ever Happened. 

About MishaBurnett

I am the author of "Catskinner's Book", a science fiction novel available on Amazon Kindle. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008MPNBNS
This entry was posted in Cannibal Hearts, On Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Pulling rabbits out of a hat.

  1. Congrats on finishing your first draft. Sounds like you earned a rest.

  2. ivanoiurares40 says:

    Reblogged this on TheSlashDash.

  3. Not to sound like a crazy person, but I would read the heck out of The Happy Fluffy Bunnies To Whom Nothing Bad Ever Happened.

    Also, congrats on finishing your draft 🙂

    • MishaBurnett says:

      I actually started thinking about what I would write about Happy Fluffy Bunnies To Whom Nothing Bad Ever Happened, and I started an allegory in my head about a forest in which predators were outlawed and the population of rabbits exploded until everyone starved–kind of a cautionary tale about a Malthusian catastrophe.

      Which just goes to show, I can’t do happy if I try.

      • I will write you your happy story right now, while I wait for my brother to finish his shower so we can go for our daily walk. Ready? Steady? Go!

        In a hidden vale
        ‘twixt the mountains of joy
        Lies a hoppy tale
        to please every girl and boy
        ‘Mongst the flowers and trees
        Bouncing along
        Are the happy fluffy bunnies
        Singing their hoppy song
        Peaceful and sweet
        Naught but cheer in their eyes
        Whilst the birds gaily tweet
        Beaks turned up to the skies
        Nothing bad ever happens
        In this happy, hoppy place
        No droughts, wars, or famines
        No deadly asteroids from space
        Only singing and laughter
        The occasional gurgle or two
        The bunnies live happily ever after
        And so can you!

      • MishaBurnett says:

        Thank you! That is beautiful.

  4. Pingback: Wind And Cars And People Of The Past | mishaburnett

Leave a Reply

