And all my words come back to me in shades of mediocrity

So I’m rereading Cannibal Hearts and making notes for editing.  As an aside, I really like using my Kindle for editing–I can use the “notes” function to tag sections and the text window encourages me to be brief.

Again, this isn’t quite the book that I wanted to write.  I always have such big dreams when I start a project, and then as the days turn into months and I start really slogging just to keep going, I kind of lose sight of the big picture.  I keep running across little bits and remembering, “oh, yeah, when I wrote this I was going to do that…

It’s not the book that I hoped it would be, but it’s the best book I can write at the moment. How good is that?  I don’t know, I’m too close to it right now.  I have a problem with focus–I have too much of it.  Not only can I not see the forest for the trees, I can’t even see the trees because I’m tracing the detail of the veins on one leaf.

I have a lot of unfinished business in this book, a lot of unanswered questions.  I’m not entirely sure that’s a bad thing, though.  There is so much to the world that I’m building, and there just isn’t room to chase down every rabbit trail.  Life–my life, anyway–is full of unanswered questions.  I see things that don’t make sense and then they are gone and I have to live with not knowing what happened next.  That’s reality.

I hope that my readers will end this book with the feeling that I’ve given them a glimpse into a rich and strange wide world, and hopefully they will want to see more of it.

Either that, or that the author is just scatterbrained and keeps forgetting what he’s talking about.  You pays your money and you makes your choice.

About MishaBurnett

I am the author of "Catskinner's Book", a science fiction novel available on Amazon Kindle. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008MPNBNS
This entry was posted in Cannibal Hearts, On Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to And all my words come back to me in shades of mediocrity

  1. Always say that it went exactly as planned until the series is over and people are fully invested to the end. Seemed to work for Rowling.

  2. Myas says:

    … Like emptiness and harmony I need someone to comfort me… “Homeward Bound” by Simon and Garfunkel.

    • MishaBurnett says:

      Yeah, I steal a lot of blog titles from song lyrics. Some day the RIAA is going to kick in my door and eat my lunch.

      • Myas says:

        When I first read it it struck a chord literally. I read it a second time and heard music, then lyrics followed like a good voice in my head for a change. It’s been a long time but I’ve always liked those guys. Might go and see what’s on sale at Amazon….

  3. The nice thing about working in your own universe is you can leave some loose ends to be picked up again later in other books, novellas, short stories, etc. I’m always excited when an author comes out with a tie-in short story. They seem fresh and accessible.

    • MishaBurnett says:

      That’s my hope, anyway. I keep telling myself that I can use these things in a later book.

      • As a note, I’m currently reading Catskinner’s Book (which I’m quite enjoying), but I have a question. Are you interested in proofing comments? I’m not sure if I have the latest version of the book, but I’ve noticed several spelling / missing word / wrong word errors. If you would like I can start making note of where I see them.

      • MishaBurnett says:

        Yes, I would absolutely be interested in notes on Catskinner. I did upload a corrected version, back in September, I believe. If your copy is later than that, then you are seeing things that I and my editor missed. If you could drop me a line from my contact page I would appreciate it.

  4. l0rdraven says:

    I loved catskinner, couldn’t put it down till my wife made me so I would sleep. I hope you keep pushing. You inspired me along with Malflic. I am looking forward to reading the next book.

Leave a Reply

