Sink traps, giant ketchup bottles, and Princess Mononoke

Oh, and a new laptop.  I’m not a big fan of laptops–I have big, ungainly hands and I like a full-sized keyboard–but my PC is showing signs that it’s on its way out, so when my daughter posted that she was selling her old laptop, I bought it so that I would have a backup machine in case mine died before I was able to set aside enough for a new PC.  So, the new Secret Hideout and Lonely Writer’s Garret O’Doom–this is where the magic happens, kids!

World Domination?  Why no, what gives you that idea?

World Domination? Why no, what gives you that idea?

I was able to get it because my daughter, who lives on the other side of the state from me, drove up for the long weekend.  Unfortunately she didn’t bring my shiny new son-in-law because he had to work, but she did bring my son who lives in the area.

So I got to see two out of three of my offspring, which was good.  On Friday we went to lunch with my mother and got into a multi-generational geekfest–my Ma passed her love of sci-fi and fantasy to me, and I am proud to say that I raised my kids in the same tradition.

Last night my son spent the night on our couch, and this morning we watched anime together and MST3Ked Princess Mononoke, which is actually fairly easy to do.  He’s a good kid.

This afternoon I worked on the bathroom sink.  It has been draining slow, and needed to be snaked, but the pipes are original with the house (1940’s) and the trap under the sink was severely corroded.  So I figured that if I was going to get it apart, I’d best replace it.  I got everything under the sink running well, but somewhere in the wall there is a new leak.  That one I’ll let the landlord handle, I am willing to do a lot of the little maintenance on the place, but he’ll have to hire somebody when tearing out walls is required.

Tomorrow I am planning to travel to exotic Collinsville, IL to see another car show with MzSusanB–this one held at the site of The World’s Largest Catsup Bottle!

You thought I was kidding, didn't you?

You thought I was kidding, didn’t you?

I’ll bring my Kindle–I am still making notes on Cannibal Hearts.  The rewrite phase is not going to be very extensive, actually, I have a couple of continuity issues (a car that turns into a van, a riverboat that needs some timeline tweaks to get it into the right place at the right time, some capitalization that needs to be made consistent) but those will be simple to fix.

So, I’m more or less on track.  I did a lot of cleaning on the 4th, to get ready for the kids coming over, and that always makes me feel good.  I like having a neat and tidy working environment, and it bugs me when I get so busy I let the housekeeping slide.

I’ve been up, I’ve been down.  I haven’t been managing my money well, and that’s come around to bite me.  Nothing major, just another indication that real life needs more care and feeding than I’ve been giving it.

It’s a juggling act, writing full time and working full time, but I’m preaching to the choir, aren’t I?  Keep the faith, pilgrims.

Fortune Favors The Bold!

About MishaBurnett

I am the author of "Catskinner's Book", a science fiction novel available on Amazon Kindle. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008MPNBNS
This entry was posted in Cannibal Hearts, On Writing, Who I am and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Sink traps, giant ketchup bottles, and Princess Mononoke

  1. Princess Mononoke is a great movie, but so easy to make fun of. Vampire Hunter D is another anime that is easy to mock.

  2. LindaGHill says:

    You know that most laptops, depending on the age, have a spot where you can plug in a keyboard, right? So if you’re planning to sit in the same spot at the desk anyway, your keyboard won’t be an issue. 🙂
    Yay for having fun with the kids! 😀

  3. ioniamartin says:

    Ugh. I did the unclog the drain thing this morning as well. You have my sympathy.

Leave a Reply

