As The Miller Told His Tale

*sigh* Because I’m not really happy unless I am working myself to death, you know?

So, I had an idea today of the project that I want to do after I finish The Fauxpocalypse Project.  I have a working title of As The Miller Told His Tale: Stories of love and magic by men.

It kind of came together in my head as a consequence of a couple of good discussions about love and sex that I took part in over the weekend, plus seeing on my Facebook feed two calls for submissions for collections of genre fiction from women authors and an ad for a completed collection of genre fiction by women authors.

It occurred to me that I can’t recall ever seeing a collection that was specifically of fiction by men, and it also occurred to me that I can’t recall seeing much written in the Paranormal/Fantasy Romance genre by men.

So after I have wrapped up Fauxpocalypse I’ll see if I can put out a call for romantic short stories featuring magic written by men and see what happens.  It may completely fail to thrive, I don’t know.  But I figure it’s worth a shot.

I will probably be looking at mid-September to open it up for submissions–the rest of this month and a good chunk of August my free time has already been spoken for, and then work goes nuts as the little monsters students return to campus.

Anyway, I wanted to see what people thought of the idea.  Is this something that men would want to be a part of?  Is it something that readers of any sex would want to read?

About MishaBurnett

I am the author of "Catskinner's Book", a science fiction novel available on Amazon Kindle. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008MPNBNS
This entry was posted in On Promotion, On Publishing, On Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to As The Miller Told His Tale

  1. ioniamartin says:

    That is a really good point. I hadn’t thought of that before, but you are right. I can’t think of a single one. hmmm. Things to investigate.

  2. Myas says:

    I’d say that’s an interesting idea… and Procol Harem would be proud…

    • MishaBurnett says:

      I just hope whoever owns the rights to the song will let me use it.

      • Myas says:

        I don’t think they own those words in particular… now if you were using the whole song I’d say you could be inviting trouble. Of course, if you lived in Istanbul you’d be fine either way.

        I’m thoroughly enjoying recognizing what I used to listen to on AM radio when AM radio was worth listening too.

  3. Dave Higgins says:

    Apparently much romance is written by men under female pen-names. I am not sure how true this is of paranormal romance, particularly as particularly-paranormal romance overlaps urban fantasy with a strong romance sub-plot.

    I already read paranormal romance so would be interested in reading this.

    I would also consider submitting.

    • MishaBurnett says:

      I’ve heard that men write romance under female names (and also that women write science fiction under male names) but I’m not sure how prevalent it is.

      I do hope you’ll contribute, once I’m ready. Of course, I need to get my current projects sorted first.

      • Dave Higgins says:

        Thank you for the expression of interest.

        I have other things to beat into shape first too, but September is far enough away that I can probably get the time sensitive stuff done.

  4. I think you have hit on something here.

  5. LindaGHill says:

    Ken Follett wrote a fair bit of romance in the novel “The Pillars of the Earth,” though I’m not sure it was classed as a romance novel.
    I’d read romance by a male writer!

Leave a Reply

