Dingbats?

I want to break my chapters into sections, and I’d like to use a custom character that I designed rather than a standard dingbat (non-letter character) like an asterisk.  Does anyone know if that’s feasible?  I don’t want to load an image file into the manuscript for every page break–that would jack up the file size.  Can I load the image once and reuse it for each section break?

About MishaBurnett

I am the author of "Catskinner's Book", a science fiction novel available on Amazon Kindle. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008MPNBNS
This entry was posted in On Publishing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Dingbats?

  1. I found this website, which works for custom fonts: http://www.ehow.com/how_5928241_put-custom-font-word.html

    Maybe it will work for dingbats too.

  2. ioniamartin says:

    I thought this post was about Charles. Dingbats.

    • MishaBurnett says:

      *sigh* I’m probably dating myself, using that word. I’m an old typesetter, from back in the day when changing fonts meant turning off the machine and taking it apart, and “cut and paste” involved a razor blade and a glue stick.

  3. Green Embers says:

    Hmm… a custom character? Yeah it would have to be an image file, unless you created your own complete font with that character. Not sure how one would go about that but it is feasible… Why not just use one of the alt code characters? More here: http://www.alt-codes.net/

  4. I just did an experiment with this for MS Word, and word looks to definitely be caching the image for repeated use. It does not increase the file size to copy and paste a duplicate of an image. I seem to recall that you might work in Open Office, but I just wanted to put this information out there. I also found this, which I have not tried, which claims to provide a way to auto-insert your image as a function of autocorrect.

Leave a Reply

