What to do?

You look frenzied, you look frazzled
Peaked as any alp
Flushed and rushed and razzle-dazzled
Dry your lips, damp your scalp
Now I can see you’re in a rut in
Disarray
And I’m not one to butt in
But in fact I must say
If you’d take it easy, trust awhile
Don’t look blue, don’t look back
You’ll pull through in just awhile
‘Cause you’re on the right track

–Steven Schwartz

I’m exhausted.

I really have been pushing myself too hard for too long.  I have essentially been working two full time jobs for over a year, and something’s got to give.  Realistically, I can’t plan on quitting my day job any time soon.

I need to get Cannibal Hearts off my plate. I am on the verge of launching the anthology projects in a big way, starting with Fauxpocalypse, and I have to give that the whole of my non-day-job-hours attention for a while.  Once I have certain things set up and I can launch the book, I think I’ll get some breathing room because I’ll be waiting on submissions for the next two.

Cannibal Hearts is close to being in shape to release… or I could sit on it and wait until I have the time to do a major rewrite.  As is, I don’t think it will disappoint fans of the first book.  Still, I could make it a better book.  I realize that now.  Over the past year I have learned a lot.

On the other hand, I expect I’ll keep learning as I keep writing.  I can envision myself continuing to rewrite this book forever and never actually releasing it.

When do we decide “good enough” is actually “good enough”?  I can either finish up the mechanical editing and formatting and release it this month, or go for a structural rewrite which may not be finished this year, because I can’t give it my full attention right now.

And I need to rest.  One way or another, I need to put this book aside.  Publish it, or bury it until I can look it again.  I’m really confused about this.  I don’t think that it will have any effect on my sales–my world is just too outre to have broad appeal. So it’s not a question of money.

For my existing fans, though, do I send out Cannibal Hearts as is and use what I know to revisit James and Catskinner some time in the future, or do I keep trying to polish this one?

I don’t know.

About MishaBurnett

I am the author of "Catskinner's Book", a science fiction novel available on Amazon Kindle. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008MPNBNS
This entry was posted in Cannibal Hearts, On Publishing, On Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What to do?

  1. Marian K Or says:

    publish, publish, publish, publish………..

  2. Help Me Help Holly ♥ says:

    That’s a hard one, but from experience, like you say, we are constantly learning and could rewrite our books over and over and always find ways to improve them. If you’re happy with it the way it is, I say publish it. And give yourself a break 🙂 x

  3. Hard to answer that question. My limit is when I find myself making edits for the simple sake of making edits.

  4. I too would lean toward finishing and publishing it. The story you might tell in 2 or 3 years will probably be completely different. Given that, why not let it be a completely different third book instead of squandering all your hard work already put in on this one?

    Also, if you’d like for me to look it over pre-release, just let me know. I’m happy to pay for my copy.

Leave a Reply

