Maneater

About ten years ago there was a television program called “Project Greenlight”.  You may remember it, it was a reality show about making a movie.  Scripts were submitted–tens of thousands of them–and gradually the entries were narrowed down to the top six. It was supposed to be the top five, originally, but the judges decided that there six finalists that deserved to be in the final round.

My ex-wife and I wrote one of those final six scripts.  It was called Maneater, and it was, for the time, a pretty radical story.  A boy named Dave meets a girl named Ginger in the park at night, and and the two fall in love.  Dave is the manager of his family’s hardware store.  Ginger, however, is a flesh-eating undead monster, although that doesn’t make her a bad person.  It was a hybrid, a romance and a horror story, and we thought it worked pretty well as both.

Now, keep in mind that this was pre-Twilight, pre-True Blood, pre-Warm Bodies.  At the time we wrote it, there really weren’t any horror/romances out there, and I suspect that the idea was too bizarre for mainstream Hollywood. (I really don’t want to believe that Feast beat us out because it was better written.)

In any event, Amazon has been accepting screenplay submissions for their film and television production arm, and I decided to dust off Maneater and send it in.  Their evaluation period has just ended, and they have elected not to extend the 45 day option.  (I suspect in part because over the past ten years Undead Romance has gone from too bizarre to too derivative.  Timing is everything.)

However, leaving the script up on their site allows me to get some exposure for the project, and they have some fun developer’s tools including a storyboarding program that I really want to play with.  So there’s the chance that I can connect with an indie filmmaker who is looking for a relatively low budget project.

So there’s another hot slice of something to do added to my already overfull plate.  I also need to finish the edits and formatting for Cannibal Hearts, my sequel to Catskinner’s Book. I need to finish putting together The Fauxpocalypse Project and set up an imprint to publish it, and my next two anthology projects, The Red Cats Project and The Miller Project.

Oh, and I still have my full-time day job, of course.  This week all the little monsters students move back onto campus, which is always a very special time for the maintenance staff.

Ah, well.  I can sleep when I’m dead.

About MishaBurnett

I am the author of "Catskinner's Book", a science fiction novel available on Amazon Kindle. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008MPNBNS
This entry was posted in On Promotion, On Publishing, On Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Maneater

  1. mcwatty9 says:

    Wow. Very clean voice. Fun to read your words.

  2. I remember hearing about that project. So cool that you were involved. Hopefully somebody picks it up because it sounds like a much better idea than the other Horror Romance that is out there.

  3. l0rdraven says:

    I totally get that feeling of being just a little off the main stream timing. Too early and it is grotesque and appalling, too late and it has to be extreme just to get noticed. I wish you luck, who knows what is around the corner. and good luck with the little monsters

  4. djmatticus says:

    Sleep is definitely overrated…
    And wouldn’t it be lovely if the earth was spinning just a tad slower so we could have more time in each day to get things done?

  5. L. Marie says:

    Wow. I didn’t know Amazon was accepting screenplays. That’s awesome. And man, you’ll be busy. But busy is good.

Leave a Reply

