Meet The Voice Of Catskinner

Wow, that was quick.

A few days ago I posted about producing audiobooks on ACX.com.

I posted samples of both novels, and in short order I was contacted by an actor named Brandon McKernan who said that he was intrigued by the idea of narrating James and Catskinner because of the challenge of reading a character with two very different voices.

He provided me with an audition for Cannibal Hearts (since that’s the one that he saw first)  and I was very impressed.  It was strange hearing my words in someone else’s voice, and I’ll admit that his take on Catskinner’s voice was much different than the way I heard it in my head.  Once I got past the initial surprise, however, I realized that he was perfect.  Even in the short sample that I had given him to read, he made Catskinner sound really freakin’ scary. 

He’s got a very versatile voice, and gave the other characters voices that were distinct without being cartoon accents. He’s got an impressive resume of voice and live acting, and when he said that he’d be willing to do the audiobook versions of both books for royalties, I was ready to make a deal.

So, Catskinner’s Book is officially in production as an audiobook.  These things take a lot of studio and production time, and–just like the rest of us–he has to make a living with other projects at the same time.  So it may not be available for a couple of months.

Once Catskinner is produced, we’ll look into doing Cannibal Hearts.

 

About MishaBurnett

I am the author of "Catskinner's Book", a science fiction novel available on Amazon Kindle. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008MPNBNS
This entry was posted in Artists That I Admire, Cannibal Hearts, On Promotion, On Publishing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Meet The Voice Of Catskinner

  1. LindaGHill says:

    Wow! That is very cool! 😀

  2. sknicholls says:

    I have thought about an audio book for mine, as people have asked me about it. Some say two voices is distracting and they prefer it to be read by the author, but I think I need a black man to do the black male voices for more authenticity that my voice could produce.

  3. Congratulations! That’s insanely cool 🙂 I was actually perusing that site the other day, and it looked really intriguing. Although the one thing I couldn’t find was pricing. Obviously you don’t have to tell me what you’re paying to get the audio version out, but can you give me a rough estimate? E.g., $500? $2000?

    And then for the audition, was it just Brandon who auditioned, or were there multiple people and you chose him? Also, did you get a heady rush of power when you realized that you are basically the director of your book, and did you then proceed to buy a director’s chair, a beret, and shout at people through a megaphone?

    • MishaBurnett says:

      Pricing can be handled in two ways–you can either pay the actor upfront (rates run from $100 an hour of finished product on up) or the actor can agree to share royalties. Brandon agreed to work on royalties, so I don’t have to pay him upfront. I told him that the sales weren’t likely to be huge, but he likes the project. He was the only audition that I had.

      And no, I didn’t feel the need to go all C. B. DeMill–I’m really more of the producer.

  4. Pingback: My Top 13 Posts Of 2013 | mishaburnett

Leave a Reply

