My Fans

Today I went to the monthly writer’s group at All On The Same Page Bookstore, and I three requests for signed books–one person bought both of them (you know who you are) and another person asked for a copy of Cannibal Hearts.

I signed them, and I wrote a little note.  I never know what to say.  I always figure I should write something pithy and profound, humble without being self-effacing, clever, but not too clever, some bit of wisdom that touch a person’s life without coming across like I think I’m some kind of guru.  I want to be able to sum up in a single line what it means to me that people not only want my books, they want me to write in them, to put down my name and say, yeah, I’m the guy who wrote this!

I can’t do that.

I mean, I like to think that I’m pretty good at putting things into words, but this is a situation where words really fail me.  I can’t say how much it means to me that people like my work and want more of it.

I mean, even just thinking about the idea of having fans makes me feel all mushy inside.  Since I released Cannibal Hearts I keep seeing people posting that they have been waiting for this book, and I think, really? 

I’m amazed, and I’m excited, and I’m pleased, and I’m so scared that the people who have been waiting for this book will be disappointed.  I made it the best book that I could make it, and sometimes I think it’s pretty good, but other times I think it’s crap. I have several five star reviews for it now, but deep down inside I’m still waiting for the other shoe to drop.

This sounds presumptuous as heck, but seriously, more than anything else I want to be worthy of my fans.  I want to make something good for people, something that will make people keep wanting more.  Okay, I’ve got a lot going on, but I have actually started on Worms Of Heaven, it’s way too early to talk about even an estimate of when it will be out, but I want you all to know that I am going to write it, and by God I will make it the best book I possibly can.

Because you deserve it.

Thank you.  Thank you so much.  Knowing that people are reading and enjoying my work makes it all worth it.

About MishaBurnett

I am the author of "Catskinner's Book", a science fiction novel available on Amazon Kindle. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008MPNBNS
This entry was posted in Cannibal Hearts, On Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to My Fans

  1. kingmidget says:

    I’m not sure how to respond to this except to say that I wish I had written it. You touch on so many things and express them in exactly the way I feel. I am honored to be that person who asked for both books. Here’s why. You clearly work hard at this. That doesn’t mean that your stories are perfect, but Catskinner was an excellent story. I look forward to the second in the series. And the third. And the genre you write in isn’t even one that I am that interested in anymore. Misha, you write a good story. Glad to do what I can to support you.

    • MishaBurnett says:

      Susan actually wanted to hand deliver your books, but I suspect that’s just because she’s itchy for another cross-country road trip. And what genre do I actually write in? I’m kind of confused about that myself.

  2. sknicholls says:

    I have followed your lead and begun to investigate my marketing opportunities here in Orlando for when my paperback is released. You would think a town this size would have a world of bookstores that will carry indie authors. But no! We have two majors: Barnes and Noble, and Books-a Million. 75% of small bookstores are second hand/used books stores (which I must admit I sort of resent as an author). So far, I have found five small independent bookstores that will buy 2-4 copies each, and one that will support me to have a book signing launch party in their store. I cannot imagine what worthy words to write in a book and feel very much like you do. I hope to personalize it as much as possible. A lot of those attending are my former Nurse friends. I would think that would be different if there are many I don’t know.

    • MishaBurnett says:

      I think that partnering with local independent book stores is a win-win situation for independent authors. I really recommend it for anyone who is self- or small press- published.

  3. mcwatty9 says:

    Very heartfelt. Good for you Misha, keep pumping out the great work. I’m excited to watch your following grow.

  4. Maybe print out this post and tape it inside each book? 🙂 Seriously though, definitely get what you’re saying. I cringe every time one of my friends buys my book, because I know they expect a lengthy, heart-warming message, and YOU CAN’T JUST CONJURE THAT UP ON THE SPOT!!!

  5. L. Marie says:

    I’m sure the people who received a signed book from your were just as thrilled and giddy. I’m always thrilled when I get a signed copy of a book.

Leave a Reply

