Back In The Saddle Again

Tonight I have my monthly writer’s group, and I’ll be bringing the first chapter(ish) of The Worms Of Heaven.   It’s been a while since I have written new fiction–I have been hung up on editing and revising and formatting and all that boring crap you need to do.

Now, though, I am able to actually open the floodgates of the wild frontier and see what has been going on in the depths of Mishaland while I doing other things.

There’s always a fear when I start a new project–can I still do it?  It’s such a strange headspace, it’s hard to remember just what it’s like when I’m not in writing mode.  Sometimes I reread something of mine and I think, where the heck did that come from?  I didn’t write that, did I?

In this case, because I am working on the third book featuring the same world and the same narrator, it’s worse.  Not only do I have to get my writing groove back on, I have to return to James’ voice, which is sort of like mine, but different in some ways.  I need to be consistent with the first two books without being repetitive.

I’m a little over two thousand words in, and it’s like I never left.  The words are coming back, and I pretty happy with how they are arranging themselves on the page.  I’m already in some new territory–James’ situation continues to change as the story moves on.  I have an image of the overall theme of Worms Of Heaven.  It’s not something I can exactly put into words yet, but the shape is coming together in my mind.

I need to build up my endurance, again.  The habit of producing new copy every day is a hard one for me to hold on to.  But I think this one will be better, both a better book and easier for me to write than the first two.  I learn by doing.

Okay, back to work.  See you in the funny papers.

About MishaBurnett

I am the author of "Catskinner's Book", a science fiction novel available on Amazon Kindle. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008MPNBNS
This entry was posted in On Writing, Who I am, Worms Of Heaven and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Back In The Saddle Again

  1. Always great to get back into the writing part and away from the editing. Good luck.

  2. I’ve been thinking about stopping by the writing group some time. It’s open to the public right?

  3. kingmidget says:

    As I get side tracked by writing a trio of long short stories (short novellas?), I’ve started to worry that when I return to my novels-in-progress, I will have lost the flow of them. I get what you’re saying.

  4. I’m dreading bringing my first chapter of Chasing Nonconformity to my writer’s group. I just know they’ll tear it apart and make me re-think my entire story. Bahhhhhh.

  5. Help Me Help Holly ♥ says:

    Happy to hear it’s flowing nicely again 🙂 And good luck for the Writers Group, I’m sure they’ll love it!

Leave a Reply

