The Development of a Book Cover

A nice piece of the evolution of a cover.

Michael J Holley - Writer

Screen Shot 2013-10-07 at 11.14.01We all know that the maxim, ‘ you can’t judge a book by it’s cover,’ is nonsense when it comes to the actual reality of this metaphor. I’m not sure about exact numbers but somewhere in the region of 80% of the buying decision is made from the front cover. Most of which is made in the first few seconds.

The cover is hugely important and so it’s important to get it right. When you accompany this with Author Branding as well, having a good relationship with your Cover Designer is compulsory. I’m fortunate in this regard because my Cover Designer happens to be my best friend, Simon Raine, who I’ve known since I was 5. In this post I’m going to show you the progression that my latest cover has made and explain how the iterative process worked.

View original post 471 more words

About MishaBurnett

I am the author of "Catskinner's Book", a science fiction novel available on Amazon Kindle. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008MPNBNS
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

