The End Of September (Papi Prompts #6)

This is in response to Papi Prompts #6 over on The Literary Syndicate. The form specified, Terzanelle, was one that I wasn’t familiar with, so I figured I’d give it a try.

The End Of September

Down in the firefly weeds I remember
When the crickets chuckled of death in the grass
When I was a child at the end of September

Ambergris woodsmoke and lawnmower gas
Leaves in dead battalions of gold
When the crickets chuckled of death in the grass

A heartbeat between the heat and the cold
Sunset colors of charcoal and rust
Leaves in dead battalions of gold

Witches’ eyes rimmed in skeleton dust
A time for stillness, a time for fear
Sunset colors of charcoal and rust

A voice on the wind that breathed in my ear
Run, child, run, for death’s drawing nigh
A time for stillness, a time for fear

Run did I then, and run still do I
Down in the firefly weeds I remember
Run, child, run, for death’s drawing nigh
When I was a child at the end of September

About MishaBurnett

I am the author of "Catskinner's Book", a science fiction novel available on Amazon Kindle. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008MPNBNS
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The End Of September (Papi Prompts #6)

  1. Sue says:

    Perfectly written both to format and content. Especially enjoyed the word Ambergris. When I used to write strict forms of poetry I diagramed it to follow. Liked the introduction of witches too
    all in all – wonderful poem

  2. Papi Z says:

    Reblogged this on The Literary Syndicate and commented:
    Very good poem by Misha in response to this week’s prompt! Check it out my friends!

  3. Ellespeth says:

    Hi Misha! I so enjoy this poem – it’s so timeless. This is a difficult prompt but you’ve managed it like an expert!
    Ellespeth

  4. Pingback: Papi Prompts: #7 | The Literary Syndicate

Leave a Reply

