My World And Welcome To It

Catskinner's Book, click for the Amazon page.

Catskinner’s Book, click for the Amazon page.

Today and tomorrow (Saturday 12Oct13 and Sunday 13Oct13) my two Book Of Lost Doors novels are free for Kindle e-book download.

Although I have been writing about James & Catskinner and his world for about two years now, I still have difficulty explaining exactly what sort of books they are.  I have them listed under a couple of the Fantasy headings on Amazon, mostly because I have found that calling something Science Fiction tends to lead readers to expect starships and blaster guns, and that’s not what I write.

You’re not going to find any alien worlds with double suns in my work, instead you’ll find a world that looks very much like ours, on the surface.  It isn’t our world, though, it’s a strange and dangerous place, inhabited by things that only look human.

Cannibal Hearts, click for Amazon page

Cannibal Hearts, click for Amazon page

James, my narrator, is an ordinary man with an extraordinary monster living in his head and sharing his body.  Catskinner is a walking hole in the world, cold and lifeless and without empathy or compassion.  Catskinner kills, and he is very, very good at it.

All of his life James has run from the consequences of Catskinner’s actions, living like a rat in the walls of the world and hiding from human beings.

Until the day he finds out that Catskinner isn’t the only monster in the world, and that there are some monsters that you can’t run from, and that sometimes there is nowhere to hide.

I have called these books (and the next, which I am working on now, and, I hope, more to follow) The Book Of Lost Doors.  I set out to create a world that is equal parts quotidian and fabulous, where the impossible and the real exist in an uneasy equilibrium. For inspiration I have drawn on the works of some of the more surreal authors of speculative fiction, William Burroughs, Phillip Dick, Samuel Delany, Clive Barker, China Mieville, Tim Powers.

The world, though, is entirely my creation.  No vampires, no werewolves, no zombies or fairies or unicorns.  Instead you will find creatures that are half-human or not at all human, new gods and monsters that I hope will surprise and delight and frighten you.

This is my world, welcome to it.

I hope you like it here.

About MishaBurnett

I am the author of "Catskinner's Book", a science fiction novel available on Amazon Kindle. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008MPNBNS
This entry was posted in Cannibal Hearts, On Promotion, On Publishing, On Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to My World And Welcome To It

  1. Jade Reyner says:

    Consider your books downloaded – I shall very much look forward to reading them and I will of course review them for you. 🙂

    • MishaBurnett says:

      I hope you like them. I try to let people know what they are getting into with my works–it’s a pretty strange place, and not everyone is comfortable there.

      • Jade Reyner says:

        Well I am looking forward to visiting. One of the things that I have been doing is ensuring that I try lots of different genres as there is so much to be learned from other writers. Prior to writing my own book, I had restricted myself to very limited areas and now I am loving that I have broadened my horizons. I will feedback to you. 🙂

  2. Reblogged this on Legends of Windemere and commented:
    Get both volumes of the Book of Lost Doors series for free this weekend! This series is like nothing you’ve ever read before.

  3. sknicholls says:

    I am away from my PC this weekend but I think I can get them on my iPad with my kindle app to read them. If not, I’ll get them as soon as we are home.

  4. sknicholls says:

    Reblogged this on mybrandofgenius and commented:
    You won’t want to miss these! Both books are FREE for the weekend.

  5. Papi Z says:

    Reblogged this on The Literary Syndicate and commented:
    Today and tomorrow my friends(10-12/10-13) Both of Misha’s books, “Catskinner’s Book” and “Cannibal Hearts” are free on Amazon. Having read them, I wholeheartedly encourage you to download them and leave a review afterwards.

  6. I went through the first few pages of Catskinner’s Book a while back and liked what I saw; it’s probably going to be the next thing I read. Though personally, I see it more as Science Fiction than Fantasy :P.

    Reblogging now. Hope the promo goes well.

    • MishaBurnett says:

      Thank you. I personally think Science Fiction is a better description, but from what I have seen most readers expect certain types of settings and characters from Science Fiction and I don’t really fit that profile. Fantasy seems to be a looser genre.

  7. Reblogged this on The parasite guy and commented:
    A pair of SF/F books, free until the end of tomorrow. What’s to complain about? 🙂

  8. Done!! very much looking forward to exploring your world – it sounds fascinating! 🙂

  9. Oloriel says:

    Hey! Your books intruiged me as soon as I first time laid eyes on them here in your posts (and I already mentioned on your blog I am a cover addict, well, I love yours!).
    I hate Kindle, I cannot seem to make it work properly on my PC and it is very confusing, so I am going to buy your books, I have been brewing that idea to action for quite some time now, just need to collect some more money and voila, I will have two amazing books to read.
    It is wonderfull you are offering them for free, I hope you gain many faithfull readers 🙂

  10. Reblogged this on Michelle Proulx – The Blog and commented:
    As I mentioned a few days ago, Misha Burnett’s books are free for download today! If you’re a sci-fi/mystery fan, check them out 🙂

  11. tmewalsh says:

    I’ve just downloaded both. Looking forward to reading them 🙂

  12. Aussa Lorens says:

    I’ll have to check them out 🙂

  13. Pingback: My Top 13 Posts Of 2013 | mishaburnett

Leave a Reply

