So, there’s these questions…

I got nominated by mcwatty9 for an award.  Now, you all know that I don’t do awards, so I won’t be posting the image or nominating anyone else, but there was an interesting list of questions, so I figure I’ll do that part.  Thank you, Thomas M. Watt.

1.) Where do good ideas come from?

There are no “good ideas”.  Quality work can be inspired by anything, but it’s the work that matters, not whatever inspired it.  I think the myth of having to “have an idea” in order to create can be devastating to  an artist.  Sit down and get to work, and see what happens.

2.) Five minutes with any celebrity – who would it be and what would you say?

Christina Hendricks. I’ve got five minutes–I’m going to waste it talking?

3.) Who is your favorite writer, and why?

C. K. Chesterton.  He had a rare (possibly unique) gift for completely dismantling a philosophy with ruthless precision without ever insulting the people who accepted that philosophy.

4.) What is more important for authors today – being an artist or having networking skills?

Being an artist is always more important to being an author, although networking skills can help you make a living.

6.) Would you rather have great sex or an avid readership?

Beats me.  I’ve never had either.

7.) You are walking down the street and see the most awful sight you could ever imagine. What is it?

I’m not going to answer this question.

8.) The life of a writer – Blessed or burdened?

Neither, or at least not any more than the life of someone who isn’t a writer.  Working a full time day job and writing full time, as I and so many others do, can get rough.  But writers don’t have any special monopoly on either joy or sorrow.

9.) SpongeBob SquarePants or television news?

There’s a difference?

10.) Tell us about your most current book or WIP –

  • Give me the title and a quick pitch.

It’s called The Worms Of Heaven and it is the third in the Book Of Lost Doors series.  James & Catskinner have to track down the mysterious group who have kidnapped the equally mysterious Agony Delapour.

  • Why are you in love with this idea?

It’s a chance to play some more in my sandbox, the odd and dangerous and (for me, anyway) strangely beautiful world that I have created.  I’ve set up the rules and now I get to push them, to try and find out just how far I can alter our world while still keeping the externals recognizable.

  • What am I going to get out of this, as a reader?

A few hours entertainment.  Maybe a few concepts that will come back and trouble you in the middle of the night.

About MishaBurnett

I am the author of "Catskinner's Book", a science fiction novel available on Amazon Kindle. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008MPNBNS
This entry was posted in Artists That I Admire, On Writing, Who I am, Worms Of Heaven and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to So, there’s these questions…

  1. Sue says:

    Loved answers to 1 and 9 and chance to play in my sandbox 😀

  2. mcwatty9 says:

    Good answers.

Leave a Reply

