Will Write For Booze

I try not to get too personal in this blog, mostly because I can’t imagine that anyone out there really wants to hear about my personal life.  It’s pretty dull, really, I get up in the morning and go to my day job, then I come home and I work on writing and editing and promotion.

However, I am finding an area where my personal life is impacting my life as an author. I’m rather hesitant to mention it, because it’s something that feeds into a rather negative stereotype about creative artists in general and writers in particular.

I have real difficulty writing without drinking.  I don’t write when drunk–well, strike that, I do, but mostly if I’m too drunk what I write has to be deleted come morning.  On the other hand, a couple of glasses of wine or beer helps me to sit down and get the words out.  I write best when I’m a little tipsy.  Buzzed.

Part of it is that I have chronic pain, and it’s hard to concentrate when everything hurts.  A little alcohol numbs that.  But it also helps to shut down my mental filters so I end up with crazy stuff like people melting into carnivorous pink goo or guns that shoot electrified frogs.  When I’m entirely sober I tend to reject ideas as being too batshit nuts.

A little cheap red wine, and batshit nuts becomes my chosen oeuvre.  Judging from the reviews, that’s what my fans like about my work, the places where I veer off the road and go careening across the gently rolling hills of Weirdsville, corn stalks in my spokes and bugs in my teeth.

Unfortunately, right now things are really tight.  Leaving out the dreary reasons why, the fact is that my household is struggling for money.  So I am finding that things like rent and food and electricity are taking precedence over my accustomed evening tipple.  While that’s probably healthier for me in the long run, it is playing hell with my writing, both in terms of wordcount and substance.

The Worms Of Heaven is in danger of becoming a really dull book, I’m afraid.  Without a steady infusion of muse-in-a-bottle writing isn’t any fun, it’s a chore.  I’m not excited about it, and if I’m not excited, then you’re not going to be excited.

Maybe I could start a Kickstarter campaign: Buy Enough Cheap Red Wine For Misha To Finish His Novel.  God knows it wouldn’t be the strangest Kickstarter project to get funded…

Ah, well, in other news the Audiobook of Catskinner’s Book should be live any day now, maybe I can make a few bucks from that and pick up of case of Mad Dog 20/20.

About MishaBurnett

I am the author of "Catskinner's Book", a science fiction novel available on Amazon Kindle. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008MPNBNS
This entry was posted in On Writing, Who I am, Worms Of Heaven and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Will Write For Booze

  1. LindaGHill says:

    I make my own wine, so I always have a stash. I feel for you, really I do. If I could mail you a bottle, I would.

  2. Sue says:

    I smoke when I write. I would love something to knock down my barriers. It’s hard to write if one’s environment is unstable. Does the wine have to be cheap? We have some good stuff here. Unfortunately I don’t drink

  3. I find sometimes being upset or very tired works to help the filters. Also you should look Lynda Barry, she has some awesome exercises for writing that help with mental blockage and our own innate filters.

  4. kingmidget says:

    I acquired a two beer a night habit from my father. In the last couple of years, it’s become more than two beers a night, unfortunately. And, yes, like you, it’s become a necessary part of the process. You have physical pain. I have emotional pain that needs to be numbed. It’s my medication. When I don’t imbibe, I’m two angry, too frustrated, too everything to be able to step into one of my stories and write. Problem is that I know that I’m drinking too much so every week I try to stop. When I try to stop, I stop writing. It’s a vicious circle. Hope you get what you need to keep creating what you are.

  5. Oloriel says:

    From my own expiriences, I found out that those tipsy stuff are always inside us, we just have barriers and use logic and reason not to let them out.
    I am very easy to get tipsy, I smell an open beer and I am rpacticaly already there, but you can also try to use the mind decieve trick. Just take a different drink and tell yourself its a brandy or something and drink it. This often leads the mind to release from restraints and let the tipsy hidden stuff out.

  6. sknicholls says:

    I write best in the mornings when my brain is fresh and I am not too tired. I have to have my coffee and cigs…but I go out onto the screened porch for those…so I am back and forth, write a bit go reward myself, write a bit more and go again.

  7. Now, I’d contribute to THAT fundraiser!

Leave a Reply

