Then Somebody Out There Loves You

I get fan mail, sometimes.

That’s really what keeps me going, you know.  My sales are steadily increasing (I am getting a royalty payment in November, which is going to be the first time that I have gotten payments two months in a row) but I am a long way from quitting my day job.

I have been thinking of chucking it all recently.  I have a lot of pain in my joints these days, and I find it painful to sit at my computer for long stretches, which makes it tough to write much.  Most of my attempts at promotion have ended up costing me more than they generated in sales.

And writing is hard work, mentally.  I have a fairly breezy, nonchalant narrative style, which I like to think makes my work easy to read, but it takes time and effort to manufacture the illusion of carelessness.  There is a lot of background work in my world, most of which readers will never know about.

The point is that writing novels takes a lot of blood, sweat, toil, and tears, and offers relatively little return.

However.

I just got a lovely little note on my Facebook author page from a reader who said she enjoyed my first two books and asked if I was working on another one.  The fact that someone would take the effort to do that means a lot to me.

I love my readers.  I don’t have a huge number of them, but they are enthusiastic and supportive.  My work isn’t for everyone, but those who like it really like it.

That’s enough.  I keep working because there are readers who want me to keep going, who want to know what happens next to James & Catskinner.

Thank you.  To everyone who has taken the time to drop me a line or make a comment and tell me that you have enjoyed my books, thank you so much.

I am working on The Worms Of Heaven.  Not as fast as I’d like, but I am making steady progress.  I want to make it good, to keep doing whatever it is that people like.  I’m taking the feedback from my readers under careful consideration as I write.  For example, people really seem to like Exquisite, so I’m making sure that he’s in the book.   I’m also introducing both new characters and new kinds of characters. I’m not much of plotter, but I think I have a storyline that should prove entertaining and maybe a little bit surprising.

The point to all this is that readers matter to self-published authors.  If you enjoy the work of a particular author, take a moment to let her or him know that.  It makes all the difference in the world.

I’m going to close with a Jackson Browne quote:

“People, you’ve got the power over what we do
You can sit there and wait
Or you pull us through”

About MishaBurnett

I am the author of "Catskinner's Book", a science fiction novel available on Amazon Kindle. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008MPNBNS
This entry was posted in On Promotion, On Writing, Who I am and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Then Somebody Out There Loves You

  1. (From my blog.) CHURCHILL: We will write them on the beaches, we will write them in the streets and in the fields…we will NEVER surrender. If the English language were to last for a thousand years, men will still say…this…is a thieving magpie language, written by people with thieving magpie minds…

  2. Very cool that you’re getting fan mail and your sales are improving. Good luck on the next book.

  3. Good luck with your books.I can’t say anything about your writing work but certainly I enjoy this song.

  4. kingmidget says:

    I share a lot of the thoughts and emotions you express here. As I’ve posted recently, I’m in re-evaluation mode. I’ve stopped working on the story I was working on, stopped thinking about publishing, just stopped for a bit. Knowing that I’ll pick it up again. Probably pretty soon. As well as a love for that particular song. Jackson Browne is one of my favorites, particularly when it’s just him and the piano or a guitar. Stripped down to the basics, he’s an incredible singer and songwriter.

  5. Sue says:

    Actually I do send fan mail. So if your books didn’t sell would you stop writing? If I go a day without writing something, I get all twitchy

  6. I am not sure I told you how much I enjoyed Catskinner – haven’t found the time to read Cannibal Hearts yet (but it is getting closer to the top of my ‘to read’ list). I really enjoy following indie authors through their blogs – I feel like I am their friend and it makes reading their books even more enjoyable. Thanks to all who can come up with a concept/plot/storyline and put it to paper. I’m not a writer, just an avid reader.

  7. Well I wish you all the best in your writing endeavors, Misha. I’ll be graduating next month (degree in Behavioral Sciences and CPC in Substance Abuse) so naturally, the only kind of writing I’ve been able to explore has been criminological, psychological, and sociological theories and perspectives (can I vomit now?) but hopefully, in the coming months I’ll gravitate on back to my short stories and poetry. I published a children’s book 10 years ago. That was the easy part! I understand marketing and networking and I know your struggles. In the end, we have to be driven and rewarded by our passions more than a paycheck. It’s hard work to constantly try to sell yourself! I have to do that in the photography/art world also. If I don’t network, I don’t sell. It’s just the nature of the beast. I hope you start feeling better. Google Black seed oil. It’s a panacea known to cure everything but death. ;0) But, it does wonders for the body and pain. You should check it out. xo

Leave a Reply

