International Label Day

According to the inerrant Rawrasaur, today is International Label Day.

The description of the day is as follows:

International Label Day is celebrated November 21st. This holiday celebrates the beauty of the words we choose to let shape us, the subcultures that we are proud to be part of, and the surprising meaning of the labels we all choose for ourselves!

Upon reflection, there is only one label about which I care passionately.

Realist

This may seem odd to people who read my blog and my work, but my life’s philosophy is based on one simple principle: Reality Exists. 

That is to say that the world does not drop dead when I close my eyes.  The universe has an objective existence which is independent of my perception, and statements made within and concerning this universe perforce have the quality of veracity–they are either true or false, and the truth or falsehood is not determined by the speaker.

A is, and always will be, A. Behind all of the rhetorical games and manifold -ism’s to which mortal flesh is heir is a universe of simple facts that existed before the human race and will continue to exist after us.

“Freedom is the freedom to say that two plus two make four. If that is granted, all else follows.”

― George Orwell, Nineteen Eighty-Four

About MishaBurnett

I am the author of "Catskinner's Book", a science fiction novel available on Amazon Kindle. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008MPNBNS
This entry was posted in Artists That I Admire, Who I am and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to International Label Day

  1. That’s a funny idea, international label day. I think labels are useful and necessary – but I don’t like them being applied to me! And yes, reality bites. Though I like to think it can be a bit blurry round the edges.

  2. David Emeron says:

    Apart from your masterful writing, I think this is what I admire most about you, and that with which I most identify.

  3. David says:

    Labels serve a limited a purpose. They do not define our character, unless we accept them.

  4. Pingback: International Label Day 2013 | rarasaur

  5. Sue says:

    I have a T shirt that I purchased years ago at a mental health coop on the east coast.

    Labels are for jars not people

    • MishaBurnett says:

      You can’t use language without using labels. That’s what words are, labels for things. “Misha” is a label, “I” is a label. The question is, do we define ourselves, or do we let other people do that?

  6. Or both. WE can’t stop other people defining us, and we know ourselves too well to be able to define ourselves.

Leave a Reply

