Walking Home From Babylon

In Santa Clause, IN.  Photo by MzSusanB

In Santa Clause, IN. Photo by MzSusanB

Regarding Read Tuesday, I now have both of my books set up for Kindle Countdown Deals–they’re going to be 99 cents each for the week of 9 Dec thru 15 Dec, 2013.

I’m running my promotions to run for a full week on the theory that people are going to hear about the promotion after the fact, or else miss the date, and I want to be able to pick up folks who are late to the party.  (Or is it just me who always hears about big sales the day after?)

I get the feeling, by the way, that the launch of Countdown Deals is Amazon’s way of phasing out the KDP Select Free days.  I think that’s a good thing, actually.  Too many people are using Free Days to game the system and artificially inflate their numbers.

I talked to a woman who works at the University where I work about the audiobook of Catskinner’s Book.  She loved it, and is eagerly awaiting the release of Cannibal Hearts. So far as I know, we’re still on track for mid-January of 2014.  I should be getting the first fifteen minutes from Brendan soon.

I still have a bunch of download codes from Audible.  I’m not quite sure how to promote them.  I used one to download a copy for myself (yes, I have Brendan’s original audio file, but I still like to see how the process works on the commercial version.)

I keep hoping that somewhere there is a site specifically for audiobook deals–there are dozens for e-book deals, but no one seems to have made an equivalent of  Book Bub for audiobooks.  Consider how popular audiobooks are becoming, that might be a good niche to serve.

One thing I noticed is that these codes are good for any audiobook–not just mine.  Granted, I don’t have to mention that, but the website tells you as soon as you enter the code, so it’s not like I can keep it a secret.  I’ll just have to rely on people’s sense of obligation.

Or maybe I’ll just use them to download a bunch of audiobooks for myself.   No, probably not.

I’m puttering along with Worms Of Heaven. I have a good idea of how things are going to go, but I’m working out background issues.  Exquisite is making a return in this one–and I have promised my sister that I won’t kill him in this book.  (I make no promises for my next one.) Russwin’s back, too–and I have an idea for his character development that I’m not sure if I can pull off.

I’ll have a Blue Metal Boy character as a major supporting character–I’ve been wanting to explore the physiology and psychology of that particular transhuman evolution.  And I am going to introduce at least one new transhuman race–more likely two.  Plus we may find out some more details about Michael Chase’s compound in Burbank and what happened there.

So I really am writing–it just looks like I’m playing Jetpack Joyride and listening to Muse.

Today is Fridayzilla for me.  I’m taking off all of next week (using two vacation days for Monday and Tuesday, and the campus is closed Wednesday through Friday) so I’ll have nine days in a row without the day job.

I don’t tend to take vacations–usually I use my days off for long weekends.  By Monday, December 2nd I will probably have forgotten my way around the University.

I’d like to say that I’ll spend the week being a busy little bee and writing tens of thousands of words, but I know myself well enough that I’m sure I’ll spend a lot of it playing silly video games and watching bad movies.  I might get some reading done, though.

Now, time to get to work.  See you in the funny papers.

 

About MishaBurnett

I am the author of "Catskinner's Book", a science fiction novel available on Amazon Kindle. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008MPNBNS
This entry was posted in On Promotion, On Publishing, On Writing, Who I am, Worms Of Heaven and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Walking Home From Babylon

  1. Dave Higgins says:

    Without having seen them in action it is too early to judge how Countdown days might function. However, my gut feeling is having a discounted book instead of a free book will avoid the massive glut of ebook collectors who grab them on the off-chance then do not review or even read them. It could also avoid readers avoiding a book because it wouldn’t be free if it was any good.

    Spending your leave on actually relaxing is both well deserved, and actually productive: without the pressure of keeping up with your concious while you write, your unconscious will be able to niggle out the answers to plot issues you were not aware were coming. So it might pay back more words later than you could achieve now.

  2. Elle Knowles says:

    That’s a great theory on the Kindle Countdown Deals. I seem to miss those sales too. Have a great Thanksgiving week while you take a few days off!

  3. That’s a great idea about “after the fact” and “missing the party.” I’ll have to consider this, too. Maybe promote the sale for the 10th, then on the 11th say, in case you missed it, it’s still on sale for a few more days. I’ll have to think on this, but I think you have something here. 🙂

  4. I have no opinion on the Countdown Days, but I loved the Blue Metal Boys, so I’m psyched to see what you have in store for them in Worms of Heaven!

Leave a Reply

