Guilty And Glamorous And Sleek By Design

Okay, I’m trying something new.

I have been loathe to use Twitter to promote my books because I have seen so many Twitter feeds that are simply a stream of ads repeated at monotonous intervals.

However, I am hoping that there is a less obnoxious threshold.  So, I am going to try using HootSuite to schedule one ad a day and see how that works.  I have tried my first one, if it works it should show up at 3PM Central today.

What I want to do is quote one line from one of my reviews and the link to the Amazon page.  If the one today works I’ll go through my reviews and pick out some one-liners and set them up in advance to run, one a day.

Now, I tend to learn by doing, so I apologize in advance for any mistakes I make.  If I end up flooding my Twitter feed and burying everyone else’s content, be advised it wasn’t by design.

I know that for most self-marketers this probably sounds pretty lame, but I believe that it is better to err on the side of obscurity–too little marketing can be ramped up, but too much marketing tends to drive folks away and can be hard to recover from.

Besides, it’s really tough for me to promote myself.  Baby steps.

About MishaBurnett

I am the author of "Catskinner's Book", a science fiction novel available on Amazon Kindle. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008MPNBNS
This entry was posted in On Promotion and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Guilty And Glamorous And Sleek By Design

  1. Dave Higgins says:

    I would not worry about it being too small an effort: I have heard several successful authors say advertising on Twitter is more likely to drive away potential readers rather than bring them in.

    At the moment your twitter feed is interesting, so I think one quote a day will not tip it into irritation.

  2. Same feeling here. I did the Q&A sessions so there’d be something to talk about OTHER than just plugging books. Even Tweeting that stuff felt rather numbing. Sooner or later I have to do an active plug for my books in this December sale. And it feels a million miles removed from writing stories. The alternative seems to be Tweeting about cats, and I just can’t go there. At least, not yet.

  3. I am generally pretty boring, so I struggle with what to put on Twitter to keep people interested. This could be a long term problem if I’m to build and maintain an audience interested in me as an author personality.

    Either way, one ad a day sounds more than reasonable. I just had to unfollow a spam advertiser. Never a good thing.

    • MishaBurnett says:

      I think everybody has interesting things to talk about–we’re all human, we share certain experiences. I’m willing to give most people the benefit of the doubt, but all spam all the time accounts have to go.

  4. Tuan Ho says:

    I generally limit twitter advertising to 1 tweet per day.

    As with all social media, the big emphasis should be put on interaction and sharing. I ALWAYS skip right past the advertising on my twitter feed. I just don’t think it’s an effective use of the medium.

Leave a Reply

