Fauxpocalypse

The Fauxpocalypse Project

The Fauxpocalypse Project

Well, this is it.

Fauxpocalypse, a collection of original short fiction, went live on Amazon Kindle at noon today.

This is the culmination of an idea that I had just about a year ago.

Two ideas, really.  The first was about the theme of the end of the world in literature, and that I couldn’t recall any stories about what would happen if the end of the world was predicted, but failed to materialize.

So I set out to write one, and then I realized that I really wanted to read other people’s stories on that theme.

That led to my second idea.  What if, I wondered, I opened up the world I was working on to contributions from all over the internet? 

When I started this project I really had no idea just how ambitious the concept was.  In retrospect, this whole thing is profoundly impractical.  A group of independent authors, scattered all over the world, working together by email to make a book? Most of us have never met face to face.

Somehow, though, the project gained momentum.  People liked the idea, they were willing to put in a lot of hours, writing, editing, brainstorming on marketing ideas. It stopped being my idea, became our idea.

It’s a good thing, too.  I rapidly realized that I was way out of my depth here.  Fortunately, others were willing to step up and do the things that I could not.  Dave Higgins was willing to take over as publisher when I reached my limit.  Schevus Osborne handled far more than his share of the editing.

This has been an extraordinary experience. I learned so much about the business of writing, and so much about myself.  No matter what happens with the sales of this collection, it’s a success for me.

It worked.  I got a bunch of strangers fired up about building a book from scratch and we actually finished it and got it to market.

For what it’s worth, I think it’s a good book.  We have stories all over the board, from the grim to the joyous, stories set all all over the world with all sorts of people.  I think it’s a collection that will make an impact, that will make people think, and make people feel.

What a long strange trip it’s been.

 

 

About MishaBurnett

I am the author of "Catskinner's Book", a science fiction novel available on Amazon Kindle. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008MPNBNS
This entry was posted in Artists That I Admire, On Promotion, On Publishing, On Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Fauxpocalypse

  1. Reblogged this on Legends of Windemere and commented:
    Check out Fauxpocalypse! Available now on Kindle!

  2. Green Embers says:

    Looks awesome! Kind of reminds me of The Martian Chronicles except of course this has different authors.

  3. Sue says:

    care to share the link for it? The internet is an amazing thing when it works the way it should

  4. I actually lament that I didn’t have more time to edit. I would have like about three times as long, if not more. It’s arduous work, and is not really quick (for me at least). So glad this project came together!

    I must admit, I’m a little sad the miller anthology will not. I had an interesting little idea for that one that I think would have been up your alley.

  5. kingmidget says:

    Sounds very interesting.

  6. sknicholls says:

    Now I am really curious 🙂

  7. sknicholls says:

    Reblogged this on S.K. Nicholls and commented:
    New book by a group of authors scattered all over the world! Tell me that’s not interesting in and of itself! Fauxpocalypse

  8. fortyoneteen says:

    Congratulations Misha, from a spark of an idea to this! And thanks to you, I am now a published author??? Can that be true? Thank you, thank you, thank you!

  9. Papi Z says:

    Reblogged this on The Literary Syndicate and commented:
    Misha had a great idea and made it happen! Click the picture for the purchase link, a great group of Authors writing about an interesting theme. Check it out my friends!

  10. Fauxpocalypse is a really great concept. Neil Gaiman actually explored this idea in one of my favourite graphic novels, Signal to Noise. Check it out if you haven’t already.

  11. Pingback: “You said I’m what now?” | fortyoneteen

Leave a Reply

