I Have Arrived!

I tend to post odd little questions and quotes on Twitter while I’m writing, mostly to show that I am actually writing.  Earlier this evening I posted “If a man has had his mineral salts replaced by heavy metals, would he still respond to the same pheromone cues as an unmodified human?”

My Twitter feed goes to my author FaceBook page, and someone who follows my author page responded, with a reply that showed he knew what I was talking about.  I amplified my question, which was about whether or not an ambimorph would be able to use chemical persuasion on a blue metal boy.

Here’s the exciting part–this is not someone I know personally.  This a reader from another country, someone who knows my work and decided to follow my author page, and who is evidently interested enough in the world I’ve made that he has his own ideas and theories about how things would work.  (Good ones, too, he had a well thought out answer to my question.)

I can’t really explain just how excited this makes me. It means that I’m not just shouting down a well here, the work that I have done to build not just a story but a cosmos actually means something to someone.

Does this make sense to anyone?  Getting people to read my work is a huge thrill, and knowing that people will pay money for it is an ego stroke, but getting people to think? 

Man, that’s like nothing else on Earth.

About MishaBurnett

I am the author of "Catskinner's Book", a science fiction novel available on Amazon Kindle. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008MPNBNS
This entry was posted in On Publishing, On Writing, Worms Of Heaven and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to I Have Arrived!

  1. kingmidget says:

    Absolutely get it. This is one of the reasons I loved the reviews I got for Weed Therapy. Not one sentence “it was great” reviews but reviews that were several paragraphs in length and showed that my tale had made them stop and think.

  2. Sue says:

    Instructions; do happy dance
    snap fingers
    do arm pump
    and say
    YES

    (Though I can’t really picture you doing this but do it anyway)

  3. Making people think. 🙂 That’s my daily goal. (Not sure how often I meet it, but that’s my aim.)

  4. sknicholls says:

    Excellent. The reason for living.

Leave a Reply

