My 500 Words

Jeff Goins, writer, publisher, and entrepreneur, has put forth a challenge to write 500 words every day in January.

I’ve decided to take it on.  For my own part, I am only going to be counting my work on The Worms Of Heaven, not anything I write in my blog or any work I do on creating my character database.

The most important thing (and the reason why I am taking this challenge and not, say, NaWriNoMo) is that every day is a new start.

It’s not based on a total wordcount, it’s a daily goal.  So if I only write 50 words one day, I don’t start the next day in the hole–I don’t try to make up for day before, I just move on.  If I write 1,000 words one day, it doesn’t mean I can skip the next day either–the counter resets at zero every day.

On days when I make my goal (and I’m 2 for 2 as of today) I’ll post it to twitter with the hashtag #my500words.  If I don’t make it, I’ll try not beat myself up about it.  (Yeah, like I can ever resist a chance for self-flagellation.)

I think 500 words is a reasonable daily goal for me, seeing as I am still working my day job full time.  Today, for example, I started two hours early for snow removal, which makes for a really long day.  But I came home, sat myself down, and got my 500.

I think this is a good challenge for writers, and I’d advise checking out the link.  Last year at about this time I got myself into the habit of writing something every day, but over the year I lost it.  I want to try to get it back.

About MishaBurnett

I am the author of "Catskinner's Book", a science fiction novel available on Amazon Kindle. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008MPNBNS
This entry was posted in Artists That I Admire, On Writing, Worms Of Heaven and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My 500 Words

  1. This is already my goal for the whole year. I was wondering where the hashtag came from though.

  2. Sue says:

    I never look at work count and I do write every day. I look at my novel in terms of scenes, or my shorter pieces in terms of finishing them to my satisfaction. Last night I spent about 2 hours on a drabble I wasn’t happy with. I finished it this morning. I don’t get it with word count, but that’s me.

Leave a Reply

