Blender (And A Random Question)

I’m still writing, and I’m still using the #my500words challenge to keep me on track.  Worms Of Heaven is going faster than either of the other two,  I suspect that I may be finished with it in less than the year that I allowed myself.  (I hate to make predictions, however, I may crash hard any day and not be able to look at it for a month.)

In addition, though, I just downloaded Blender to my new laptop.  I used a much earlier version of it some years back, and then I switched to Poser, which has a much easier interface.  However, Poser is expensive, and Blender is free.  The version of Poser that I own won’t run on the OS of my new laptop, and I’m not going to go out and buy a new version.

So Blender it is.  It is an incredibly complex program, though, with a user interface that looks like it could fly the Death Star. (Not a bad analogy, actually, it’s used to create CGI for video…) I’m working my way through a tutorial, and about 20 pages in I’m still learning things like how to move from one view to another–we’re nowhere near creating models, much less posing them.

It uses a different part of my brain than writing, though, it’s a combination of visual art and engineering.  I have this weird mutant brain that craves exercise in all areas–after I’m burned out with writing I have a need to play with numbers or pictures or build something.

So I got up early, did my writing, and then started playing with this new program–I may write more, I’m starting to feel like my language brain is feeling neglected again. We’ll see.  I may also decide to exercise my drinking and listening to jazz brain, too.

Random question inspired by a post by Michelle Proulx, Spam Comments Are The Best!

I have gotten some comments in my spam filter that are very… odd.  They seem to be random sentences taken from different sources and then run through a primitive translator that yields a language similar to, but not quite, English.  They read, in fact, a lot like some of William Burrough’s “cut-up” sections in Nova Express–which is one of the novels inspired my world.  My question is, who owns the copyright on spam?  Can I reproduce sections of comments that I have received on my blog in my books?  If I can, should I attribute them?  Is there much of a chance that the spammers will even recognize their own work? I am writing a scene where my main character is exploring a structure build by people who have been brain-damaged by contact with alien minds, and some of these comments would make great graffiti for the walls of this structure.

Any thoughts on that?

About MishaBurnett

I am the author of "Catskinner's Book", a science fiction novel available on Amazon Kindle. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008MPNBNS
This entry was posted in On Writing, Who I am, Worms Of Heaven and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Blender (And A Random Question)

  1. Green Embers says:

    Hmm, I think spam might be considered public domain, as the person who might own the copyright will do nothing to enforce it as that could possibly reveal who they are… but probably a question for a lawyer. Very interesting to think about.

    I’ve messed around with Blender, it is like operating the Death Star. Sounds like you’re having fun with it though. (I just got too annoyed with it to continue, lol)

  2. Help Me Help Holly ♥ says:

    One of the craziest spam messages I got was when I wrote about my miscarriage and I got a comment saying “I am always most happiest to read about your sickness” ??!!!!! It went on with other stuff I can’t remember. I have no idea about the answer to your question but I would think you could use them? 🙂

  3. LindaGHill says:

    Could you write your own spam? Might just be a fun project. 🙂 You could even blog it and have people vote on the spammiest of your spam.

  4. Dave Higgins says:

    In the US the copyright of a letter is owned by the sender, but would only really be enforceable if it were registered.

    As the recipient in the US does not gain a right tor license, the first question is what – if any – copyright provisions apply in the sender’s jurisdiction. Depending on where they are, they might not have copyright.

    If the spammer does retain copyright, you still have a right to publish extracts for legitimate criticism: it is new territory whether using their words as the words of someone driven mad by otherworldly entities would fall within critique by way of satire.

Leave a Reply

