Money

Okay, so I have just received my tax information from Amazon, and I’d like to share it with you.   I currently have two books published, both of them available as e-book, trade paperback, and audiobook.  For the year 2013, I made:

Amazon Kindle US: $117.69

Amazon Kindle International: $12.74

Create Space POD: $12.32

Audible: $59.43

For a grand total of $202.18

Granted, that is about three times what I made last year, but if you’re thinking about self-publishing as a way to quit your day job, think again.

 

About MishaBurnett

I am the author of "Catskinner's Book", a science fiction novel available on Amazon Kindle. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008MPNBNS
This entry was posted in On Promotion, On Publishing, On Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Money

  1. We definitely don’t do it for the money, do we? But there’s still hope. Consider this…

    “If you wrote something for which someone sent you a check, if you cashed the check and it didn’t bounce, and if you then paid the light bill with the money, I consider you talented.” -Stephen King

  2. sknicholls says:

    Thank you for your candidness. I didn’t make that much, but I offer no audiobook, and if you subtract what I spent on sheeeshs…everything. Well. I like the Stephen King quote.

  3. Sounds like Audible is a pretty good money maker, comparatively, then? I know I have a friend who pretty much has moved exclusively to audio books. Granted, he pirates every single one of them…

  4. kingmidget says:

    I did a little better than you, but your final point is still valid. It most certainly is nowhere near time to quit my day job.

  5. Elle Knowles says:

    Not quitting my day job! Not anytime soon anyway, even though it would give me more time to write, edit, promote, market. All those things that need to be done when self-publishing. I doubt with the trade off I would even break even! LOL!

  6. I’m glad you shared your numbers, not many people do. Its hard for new and old writes to get a perspective on where they are in the writing world. You can look at all your statistics, over and over, but it means nothing if you have nothing to compare them to.

  7. Thank you for sharing. Good to know that I’m not alone in this. It’s about the same in the music world: friends and family will only get you so far, and middlemen extract more value than they provide. I’m going to try some other strategies, but here’s my take so far: Opting Out: An Indie Musician’s Experience with iTunes and Spotify http://bit.ly/opting-out

Leave a Reply

