Today We Have Naming Of Parts

This would be Debbie

This would be Debbie

I have been tagged in the “My Writing Process” blog hop by the multi-talented Debbie Manber Kupfer.

For those who don’t know her, she provided me with a capsule biography:

Debbie Manber Kupfer grew up in the UK in the East London suburb of Barking. She has lived in Israel, New York, and North Carolina and somehow ended up in St. Louis, where for the last 15 years she has worked as a freelance puzzle constructor of word puzzles and logic problems. She lives with her husband, two children and a very opinionated feline. Her first novel, P.A.W.S., was published in June 2013 and she’s currently working on a sequel. In addition she has short stories in three anthologies: Flash It!, Fauxpocalypse, and Shades of Fear. She believes that with enough tea and dark chocolate you can achieve anything! Connect with Debbie on her blog or Facebook.

What am I working on?

I am working on The Worms Of Heaven, the third volume in my series The Book Of Lost Doors. It is contemporary science fiction/fantasy set in a universe of my own making.

How does my work differ from others in its genre?

I write in what I consider the New Wave tradition of Science Fiction, drawing my inspiration from writers like William Burroughs, Phillip Dick, Samuel Delany, George Alec Effinger, and Tim Powers.  What characterizes New Wave, in my opinion, is a certain epistemological ambiguity combined with vivid and concrete imagery.  This serves to divorce the identity of objects from their meaning, forcing us to reexamine our beliefs and preconceptions.

Why do I write what I do?

I write the kind of books that I enjoy reading.  I don’t think I could write something if it wasn’t what I love to read–I certainly couldn’t write it well.  Since I enjoy the New Wave novels of the 1960’s and 1970’s, and since most of those writers are no longer working, I decided to re-invent the genre for myself.

How does your writing process work?

I work full time, so I don’t have the time or energy to write as much as I’d like.  When I do write, I write to music (I have Pandora stations specifically designed for different moods) and I spend a lot of time messing around or staring off into space while I hash things out in my head.  Most of my writing process is internal, by the time I actually type something it’s been through a number of revisions.  So my physically word count is quite low, on the other hand I don’t rewrite–my final version is pretty much exactly the same as my first draft.

If your writing process fought Aquaman, who would win? 

My writing process could totally take Aquaman.

 

Now, in theory, the next step would be to tag other writers, but I don’t like having to choose.  So I’m gonna just open this up to anyone out there–if you want to answer these questions, please feel free.  If you want to link back to me, you can do that, too.

 

P.S. I made up the last question.

 

About MishaBurnett

I am the author of "Catskinner's Book", a science fiction novel available on Amazon Kindle. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008MPNBNS
This entry was posted in Artists That I Admire, On Writing, Worms Of Heaven and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Today We Have Naming Of Parts

  1. kingmidget says:

    “Most of my writing process is internal, by the time I actually type something it’s been through a number of revisions. So my physically word count is quite low, on the other hand I don’t rewrite–my final version is pretty much exactly the same as my first draft.”

    Nice to know I’m not the only one.

    • MishaBurnett says:

      I think a lot of people write like that, but the “there is no writing, only re-writing” crowd is more vocal.

      • kingmidget says:

        It’s the “I can write 5,000 words every day” crowd that gets to me. The whole NaNo thing that I have officially and finally washed my hands of. I have taken to referring to it as writing diarrhea. I hate re-writing and editing once the story is finished. I’m constantly editing and tinkering as I go so that I don’t have to at the end.

  2. This is the third or fourth writer now that I’ve heard say they think long and hard so by the time they write not much revision has to be done. I think this is very much in line with how I write.

Leave a Reply

