Anthology Idea: “X versus Y”

As I’ve mentioned, I have reached the point in The Worms Of Heaven where I know what’s going to happen for the rest of the book, I just have to sit down and write it out.

At points like this, my mind wanders.  It’s at about this point in Cannibal Hearts where I had the idea to do Fauxpocalypse.  So it’s not really surprising that I have another idea that is bubbling around below the surface.

I have been playing a tablet game called “Plants vs. Zombies” recently, and it’s gotten me thinking of other pairings.  “Alien vs. Predator”, “Vampires vs Zombies”, “Cowboys and Aliens”, “Kramer vs. Kramer” and so forth.

What I am considering is a collection of stories that are all “X vs. Y” stories.  They wouldn’t necessarily have to be combat related, just feature as the main story a collision of stereotypes. Nor would they have to be literal, a  figurative “Pirate vs Zombies” could be a corporate raider struggling against bureaucratically minded office workers.

Ideally each story would feature a different pairing, which would mean that each author would have to either choose or be assigned a specific conflict.

Now, I haven’t forgotten how much Fauxpocalypse took out of me, and I would only do this as story editor.  I would want to make sure that someone was willing to act as publisher and that I had contributors willing to do the heavy lifting of line editing before I went any further with it. So be advised that I am just brainstorming here.

What I am wondering is if the author interest is there.  Do you think I could get a dozen or so authors willing to take a random story seed such as “Werewolves vs. Robots” and use it as the genesis of a short story.  I’m thinking one to ten thousand word length, here.

I like the idea of randomly assigning pairings, just to see what people come up.

Any thoughts?

Versus

About MishaBurnett

I am the author of "Catskinner's Book", a science fiction novel available on Amazon Kindle. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008MPNBNS
This entry was posted in Artists That I Admire, Cannibal Hearts, On Writing, Worms Of Heaven and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Anthology Idea: “X versus Y”

  1. paws4puzzles says:

    I’d enjoy the challenge, though some of the pairings would be more interesting to me than others. (though I should probably be in some kind of anthology self-help group by now, and definitely do not want to take on the publishing responsibility).

  2. Susan says:

    I might be ready for something like this though fairies vs monkeys might be strange…

  3. That sounds like a super fun idea.

  4. Dave Higgins says:

    It is an intriguing idea. I have a few other things going on, but – depending on commitments – am potentially interested.

    I similarly don’t want to definitely offer to do publishing, but am not horrified by the prospect.

  5. Pingback: More Thoughts On “X vs. Y” | mishaburnett

  6. djmatticus says:

    You could count me in as an author and peer editor. And I love the idea of being assigned a pairing – the challenge, the prompt, is right up my alley at the moment.

  7. Pingback: The Seven | mishaburnett

Leave a Reply

