More Thoughts On “X vs. Y”

I’m a big fan of brainstorming.  I spent some more time thinking about the idea I wrote up this morning regarding an anthology, and it’s kind of growing on me.  As I’ve mentioned on here before, I am involved in a group called Legendary Author Battles, and I’ve found that working within the constraints that someone else has set can really aid my creativity.

So I think what I’d like to offer to a group of writers is a randomly generated theme, to develop as you see fit.  Ideally, I’d like to have ten to fifteen writers signed up, and then give everyone a theme at the same time, just to how people explore the ideas.

Now, the way I’m seeing the math is something like this:

With two archetypes you have one possibility: A vs. B
With three you get three:A vs. B, A vs. C, and B vs. C
With four you get six:A vs. B, A vs. C, A vs. D, B vs. C, B vs. D, C vs. D

And so on.

I’d like to have more possibilities than authors, so that the same archetypes don’t get used too often, so I am thinking that seven archetypes will yield twenty-eight different possible conflicts.  That gives me twice as many possibilities than my ideal number of authors participating.

What seven archetypes would people like to see in something like this?  Remember, the theme can be explored metaphorically, so they should be distinct enough that the characters are recognizable even if the zombie, say, isn’t a literal shambling corpse.

Thoughts?

About MishaBurnett

I am the author of "Catskinner's Book", a science fiction novel available on Amazon Kindle. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008MPNBNS
This entry was posted in Artists That I Admire, On Promotion, On Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to More Thoughts On “X vs. Y”

  1. Sue says:

    sending you a note

  2. djmatticus says:

    ballerina, actor, sports-castor, superhero, cowboy, salvage diver, witch, minister, rodeo clown, blogger, brain surgeon, rocket scientist, someone random from the planet krikkit, …
    Okay, that’s all I’ve got at the moment. Tried to make it a mix of the absurd, silly, and otherwise.

  3. susan says:

    and we can add vampire, devil shape shifter gardener

    • Dave Higgins says:

      I assume there are missing commas, but I would love to read a book about a demonic shape-shifter who works as a gardener. You could have a whole sub-genre of new weird, Eco-Weird.

  4. Pingback: The Seven | mishaburnett

Leave a Reply

