History Is Something That Happens To Other People

Guest post over at Shannon A Thompson

Shannon A Thompson

Two quick announcements from Shannon before today’s guest blogger takes over:

I have joined Tumblr, so please join me by clicking here. Also, my headshot pictures have changed. I recently did a photo shoot with Colt Coan Photography. Check out his website by clicking here!

Today’s guest blogger is Misha Burnett, author of the Catskinner’s Book and Cannibal Hearts, science fiction/urban fantasy novels. He will also mention his co-author, Jessika O’Sullivan. Please click on their names to visit their websites.   

I have always been intimidated by historical research for fiction. One of my favorite authors is Tim Powers, who writes an unique form of historical fantasy, blending real events with fantastic elements so seamlessly that you finish his books wondering just what the hell really happened.

I would read something like The Anubis Gates (about a secret society of Egyptian magicians in early…

View original post 966 more words

About MishaBurnett

I am the author of "Catskinner's Book", a science fiction novel available on Amazon Kindle. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008MPNBNS
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to History Is Something That Happens To Other People

  1. Sue says:

    I published an historical short story. And used all sorts of research – every thing has to be just so. and never assume!

    • MishaBurnett says:

      Exactly. Unfortunately, it turns out that I lot of what I thought I knew about the postwar Us/Soviet relations came from spy movies, and it is something less than accurate.

Leave a Reply

