Solar Freakin’ Ripoff

Okay. So the Solar Freakin’ Roadway video has been making the rounds for a while now, on Facebook and Twitter and such. I watched it and I got a good chuckle out of it. It’s in the style of videos by Cracked.Com and CollegeHumor.com, and I assumed that it was a parody of “green technology”.

Honestly, it never occurred to me that it wasn’t a joke, since the technology involved doesn’t exist, would cost more money than there is in the world if it did exist, and would make driving insanely dangerous if someone was actually crazy enough to do it.

Today I found out that those jokers have raised nearly two million dollars.

I’m stunned.  It’s like finding out that someone was using clips from Ghostbusters to create a company to build proton packs and had raised two million dollars.  I mean, okay, I can understand seeing a video about a science fiction technology and passing it along with a “wouldn’t this be cool” comment.

But for goodness sake, people, who invests their own money in crackpot scheme like this without first doing a little independent research to see if what they are buying even exists?

Well, evidently a lot of people.

Look, please, watch the video I’m linking here.  It’s long, almost a half hour, but it addresses point by point the claims made in the original video.  Then seriously consider sharing the video.  If you sent along the original one, send this one along.  Let people see for themselves the technical reasons why solar roadways couldn’t possibly work, hopefully before they give their money away.

About MishaBurnett

I am the author of "Catskinner's Book", a science fiction novel available on Amazon Kindle. http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008MPNBNS
This entry was posted in Artists That I Admire, On Promotion, Who I am and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Solar Freakin’ Ripoff

  1. sknicholls says:

    tweeted. I so hate a scam.

  2. LindaGHill says:

    I’ll post it on fb and tweet it. Hopefully this will get around like the original did. Thanks Misha.

  3. LindaGHill says:

    Reblogged this on lindaghill and commented:
    If you’ve seen the original “Solar Freakin’ Roadways” video on Youtube should watch this, especially if you’re considering donating to the cause. It’s a reality check. Thanks to Misha for pointing it out.

  4. LAMarcom says:

    Damn! I was sucked in.
    And I call me a ‘veteran’ of the internet scams.
    (And no! I sent no money; just thought it a cool idea…if it could work)
    Cheers,
    Lance

  5. KokkieH says:

    But it was on the internet. Are you telling me it’s not true? The internet never lies. I mean, just the other day on Wikipedia I read…

    You were wondering how they raised two million dollars?

  6. willowdot21 says:

    Gobsmacked I hate scams too. People invested money?? Really.

  7. tyrocharm says:

    lol, I was a sucker as well, I’m glad I follow you, I wouldn’t have known and I’ll pass this on.

  8. Noticed this video doing the rounds on FB, but never watched it myself. Next time I see someone singing its praises, I’ll pass this on.

  9. Barbara Rath says:

    Your post today, this post, and the comments left by folks cracked me up. I am a realist and skeptic at heart, but this is a good reminder that these characteristics are not always a bad thing.

Leave a Reply

